Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty Towers

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Lovely common areas, good breakfast, easy parking.
Cons: Rooms are in dire need of refurbishment. The plumming is straight out of Fawlty Towers. The LCD TV was on its last legs, with a gloomy picture.
Location: Sheffield: avoid. The city centre is a soulless place without any discernible, coherent town planning. Yorkshire Dales: great for walking and cycling
Spent a week-end in Sheffield. The common areas of the hotel are lovely, apart from a very crowded breakfast set-up in the restaurant. Our "executive room"'s carpet was thread-bare, obviously unchanged from 2008 when the (nice) bathroom was fitted. The bed was ancient, the mattress sagging.The veneer on the cheap table had started to lift. The shower provided only cold water one morning. Although I complained and asked for a room change, this was nto possible on account of a function taking place in the hotel. Hotel staff provided us with a couple of breakfast vouchers and said maintenance would repair the hot water supply (there was another room that had already reported a similar problem by 9:30am). The next morning the shower provided only scalding-hot water. Had to finish off using the sink... Reception provided a discount on the bill which was appreciated. They did all they could under the circumstances but until the rooms are refurbished I would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A tired hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The one button taxi service was great, a car arrived very quickly both times I used this.
Cons: The blocked sink
Old and tired, staff friendly, mediocre breakfast, sink was blocked in the room (water still in the sink after many hours), comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the heart of Sheffield

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Stayed for 1 night with 4 of us to the room. Comfortable beds and lovely bathroom Very clean and helpful staff Stayed for only one night and will definitely be staying again when I'm back in Sheffield
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by FK, Hotel Management
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. We hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Clean and quaint with convenient check out time

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Clean and quaint. Check out was 12 noon, very convenient. Was a little tricky to get into as there are a lot of one way streets and we werent sure if we could turn into the parking lot because there was a no entry right beside it.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Airdrie

Great!

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Would have got 5 stars if the fan supplied was better or the room had air conditioning, just happ3ned to be a really hot weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel in Beautiful Building

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: It's in a beautiful building, it's like stepping back into time, very ornate.
Cons: Some things, like the curtains were a bit worn but everything was clean.
Location: It's a short walk into the city centre, the hotel itself is next to two other hotels.
The staff were very lovely and helpful, the room was clean and it was a short walk into the city centre, we had a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
by Janet from Wigan

Short stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Just came for one night to visit Sheffield pubs. Not stayed in this hotel before but we will certainly use it again. Full of character and elegance but with all the modern amenities. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent for a self service buffet. Everything was so fresh.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Nice Hotel Ruined by Noisy Late-night Disco

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: It's a nice hotel and a very classy function venue - which appears to take priority over hotel guests. On mid-week night, it might be quite nice.
Cons: The rooms above the disco should not be given to non-wedding guests.
Location: Easy access to central Sheffield.
The hotel itself is very nice and would have been 4/5 across the board but for the noise. The hotel was hosting a wedding with a loud disco until 1am. The hotel was full and the staff apologised, admitted that we'd got one of the noisiest rooms. The staff suggested that we should have phone to ask for a quiet room - when you're paying £175 a night, you don't expect to have to ask for basic requirements such as "I want to be able to sleep". We hoped that this would be a luxury night away and this fell a long way short of what we expected.
1 out of 5
by masoud from Milton Keynes

A poor man Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff are friendly.Its clean but the building is old and needs to be modernised. On a hot day like the day i have stayed with my kids the hotel had no air condition in any of the rooms. We could sleep comfortable at all.
5 out of 5
by Siqing

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels