Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superior room - not superior

Posted Feb 22, 2017
As title states the room was basic and bit run down and not a superior! Maybe they put me in a standard room Hotel reception and dining all great, pity about room quality
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Overnight stop visiting family

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel staff were very good and the hotel was well located, clean and modern. The bed and the pillows were solid, so uncomfortable and for that reason only i will not choose to stay in a Novotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

City stay

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Excellent room...the peak room...quite romantic...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Nice location in city centre but left disappointed

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The sole reason for selecting this hotel was because it was located in the city centre and had a swimming pool. We arrived have planned for my children to be able to swim. On arrival after paying the £13.50 car parking fee I was told the swimming pool was not available but might be later. The swimming pool turned out to be unavailable for the duration of our stay. The toilet in our room was poor despite it being an executive room, a metal grill was hanging off the wall. It was poorly decorated and the toilet didn't flush properly. When checking out the receptionist made no attempt to enquire about our stay or whether we were satisfied etc. The food was ok with plenty of choice and wifi and computers available which was positive but I won't be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very clean and comfortable!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
The hotel is located less than 10 minutes uphill to the train station walking distance with a grocery next door and the city centre with lots of restaurants and shopping right at the other entrance to the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and checking in and out was easy. Our room was spotless and very spacious and the beds were firm and comfortable. Would definitely recommend to others!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: service
Cons: Too short a stay to be definitive
Location: Great shopping and daughter loves being atuniversity here
Not alot of time to give a strong opinion but on arrival i was offered a choice if beds in room-bear in mind my booking was non-refundable and not changeable to get the best price.I had booked a room with a double bed but when i mentioned the possibility of my son also staying i was given a room with a double bed and a large(double?) sofa bed already made up f.o.c. excellent service.The car parking is dear at £13 for 24 hrs but when i checked out my ticket was revalidated so a full days shopping was available without moving the car.The gentleman behind the bar provided excellent service on the evening i stayed so the facilities were as advertised,the staff excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SURREY

GOOD HOTEL

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: LOCATION & COMFORT
Cons: PRICE OF BREAKFAST, FAR TOO EXPENSIVE.
Location: GREAT LOCATION
EXCELLETN SHORT STAY, CONVENIENT LOCATION, COMFORTABLE ROOM AND BEDS. AVOIDED BREAKFAST AS TOOO EXPENSIVE !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday weekend

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Comfortable and convenient. Staff were friendly and very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel as really close to centre.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The experience as a whole was very good and would go back. Breakfast good. Bar area spacious and sky sports. Room could have been cleaner , especially round the edges! Sky sports in the room would have also been nice for the price we paid. Pool and steam room lovely but also could have done with a clean down. Overall the hotel worked for our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best experience.

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
checkout: was a poor experience and unnecessarily challenging. Wifi: was not working for a period of my stay. Breakfast: if you want hot coffee you have to ask for it specifically, other wise it's warm at best. Rooms: no better than an older style holiday inn express or a Premier inn.