Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet stay

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The choices for breakfast
We stayed here for one night the weekend before valentine's and got a taxi into Sheffield. We picked this hotel because of how nice it was and the value for money compared to other hotels in Sheffield city centre, it cost us more in taxi's but the hotel was much better than any of the others looked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bfd

close proximity to M1

Posted Feb 12, 2017
No negatives. huge clean family room. clean and tidy. kettle is in the wardrobe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some where to lay your head

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room was nice with a comfortable bed and good shower. Evening meal was ok but the bacon at breakfast was a little on the rigid side. It was OK and would stop again but not at the top of my list.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
We came to the area to visit friends that we lived near and have seen the red lion since it was just a pub.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Staff all very friendly and room was clean and comfortable. Value for money. Our only quibble was when we went for dinner we were in a small section where other couples were seated. There appeared to be Christmas party groups in the larger section and we felt that we were not given as much attention - long gaps waiting for plates to be cleared and to order desserts.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't have the full English!

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was just dreadful. No change from last time I stayed there. Had to tare the dried up bacon as it couldn't be cut, sausage tasted like mold and earth, mushrooms were like rubber balls. Room was nice as always, clean and compfy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Red Lion Roar

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was for business purposes. the staff were, very friendly the decor of the room and general areas was of a high standard. The breakfast menu was exceptional in its choice, quantity and quality of food. The breakfast time of up to 10.00am was good for us.The location was convenient for access to Sheffield centre. the evening menu and had value menu plus a very good choice of menu in general. There was a lovely outside seating area under an umbrella could not really fault anything and would definitely return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Ebookers
This hotel is excellent, the rooms are comfortable and it is fantastic value for money. The staff are excellent. The only reason I didn't give 5 out of 5 was because we waited a long time for drinks in the bar and waited for an even longer time to be seated for breakfast and lunch. This is absolutely no criticism of the staff but simply a matter of not enough of them. We also had to ask for replacement glasses and cutlery quite a few times as they were dirty. In summary, it needs a few more staff and a better dishwasher!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, great staff and comfy room

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were all very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. The evening meal was good value and tasty - don't expect gourmet dining - and there's a good selection on the menu. The room was very clean and the large bed was comfortable. Despite previous reviews we didn't find the room noisy, but we were not there at the weekend, when it may be busier.