Ratings based on 1,819 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

New Year's Day

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Near to the beach, on site restaurants, heated swimming, and spa.
Cons: Security, need more during this period.
Location: Restaurants (Henry VIII & Waterlot) Lighthouse and Beach
We decided to have a stay-cation in Bermuda for New Year's. We had a great time and it was very restful. The food was very good and thoroughly enjoyed the spa and swimming pool. View of the South Shore was very beautiful from our room. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

New year nightmare

Posted Jan 8, 2018
This is a fantastic hotel with a wonderful golf course. The staff are lovely, the rooms are comfortable, the amenities are great. If you're not going to stay on new year's eve, then I recommend it. If you are, stay somewhere else. The rooms are rented for parties. Our new year's eve was a sleepless, frightening, experience. You can read about it by googling "violence at the Fairmont Southampton".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are saddened to hear about your experience and would like to offer our sincere apologies. The unusual, isolated incidences from New Year’s Eve stand in stark contrast to the typical guest experience at our resort. We sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to share with you our usually peaceful atmosphere in the future. Regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2018
My husband and I celebrated our 17 year wedding anniversary on this trip and I must say, it was a very nice getaway. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent, a hotel shuttle readily available to transport us to and fro to certain places including the beach was accommodating. The hotel also had activities for each night for those who wish to participate. Overall, great stay with great tasting food. The only drawback I had was the expense of the food; a bit on the pricy side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate it. Congratulations for the 17th Anniversary! We are glad that you and your husband had such a great time. We hope to welcome you again for future celebrations! Warm regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Amazing!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Everything ther is nothing to not like!
Cons: Na
Location: The location is great. The beach is a short bus ride ( which they supply free)short bus ride into town is a great day trip. The Dockyard also.
What a great place to stay in Bermuda. The hotel is beautiful,very well maintained. The staff is amazing.they do any and everything to make you stay very enjoyable. I love this place have been 4 years in a row. I wouldn’t stay any where else in Bermuda. Short story: our flight was canceled so the airlines put up in a hotel closer to the airport ABSOLUTELY no comparison to the Fairmont !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the great feedback. It is much appreciated. I am glad to read that you had such memorable moments amongst us. We hope to welcome you again soon! Best regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Great visit over the holidays. I loved the 12 Days of Christmas activities that were offered at various times throughout our stay. Staff was courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean... not as luxurious as I would've liked but comfortable. Most convenient are the shuttle busses that get you down the hill leading up to the resort. From there you can choose different options for getting around the island (ferry to Hamilton or public bus to wherever), if you decide not to take a taxi from the lobby, which works too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the great feedback. It is much appreciated. I am glad that you had such a nice experience amongst us the holidays and that you could take part in our 12 Days of Christmas program. Thank you again for sharing and he hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again next year! Best regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Years Eve Ruined

Posted Jan 2, 2018
After five pleasant nights at the hotel they apparently rented all available rooms to island locals to have a roving NYE party. The hallways were jammed with 100’s (literally) of partying guests. The guest’s ages ranged from 16 to approximately 25. I complained to the front desk on three separate occasions to no avail. Ultimately, I hunkered down to my room only to be greeted in the morning of stories of violent fights that had occurred in that late evening. I felt a lot safer on New Year’s Day as the hotel was swarmed with police officers. To top it off, when I first complained to the front desk, I was told by the manager that several of the people I was complaining about were her cousins. The manager went on to suggest that I was only complaining because “they looked like her”.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are saddened to hear about your experience and would like to offer our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us an opportunity to make things up to you in the future, as the isolated incidences from New Year’s Eve stand in drastic contrast to the usual guest experience at our resort. We would greatly appreciate the chance to speak with you directly about your stay. We would appreciate if someone from our team could follow up with you. Warmest regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Baltimore MD

Reasonable hotel depending on your plans

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff
Cons: See above
Location: On highest spot on the island; nice views; if you don't golf or want to attend classes on cooking you have to leave the site.
1) the hotel is a bit isolated from the urban centers of Bermuda; we spent a lot of time on buses. 2) The food was good but expensive (this is not unexpected). 3) Afternoon tea was delightful. 4) Signage and literature was out of date (both signs and the hotel brochure said that the business center was on the mezzanine but it had actually moved to the lobby some time ago; both the website and the brochure referred to a restaurant Bacci at the golf club; this had closed and been replaced by a sports-bar some time ago; needs signage telling guests to pick up the [unlabeled] phone at shuttle stops to call for the shuttle; we were told this early by guests that had sat for almost an hour before figuring this out). 5) toilet running through the night; loud people in adjacent rooms (better soundproofing would be a good idea)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Arthur, Thank you for the review. We appreciate it. I am glad that you had an overall positive experience amongst us. Still, you outlined some opportunities of improvement that I will definitely share with our teams. Thank you again for the feedback. I hope that you will present us with an opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nothing good except for the private beach

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Private Beach with beautiful water and soft sand. Children indoor play area.
Cons: staff service and cleanliness.
Location: Visit St George and Hamilton.
When I originally booked this hotel, I was very excited because the overall review was great and it was supposed to be a 4.5 star hotel (they claim 5 star). I travel frequently with family and know the usual of what is to be expected and what is NOT to be expected. - I did not expect to find cut toenails on the room floor (none of my family members cut our nails there so it cannot be ours). I only discovered this disgusting piece of toenail because i was trying to pick up the snack crumbs my children left on the floor. - I did not expect to see the staff out by the entrance (usually helping with shuttles and taxi) to be so rude and unfriendly. I made a complaint to the manager (who I was first told "not available" and of course suddenly became available after I made it very clear that we will not be leaving quietly"). She is to follow up with me on what is done in regards to the complaint that was reported. We will see how that goes. - Even if you get a upgraded ocean view room (which is what we did), the view is NOT pretty at all mainly because if you look down, you will see their storage area along with not so pleasant looking roof of the lower building. I didn't bother to take pictures of the ocean view due to this reason. It was not picture worthy. - You will not find staff taking your drink food orders at the beach. Go up to the bar yourself and deliver your own food. (This is the 1st 5 start hotel where we didn't receive drink and food service by the beach).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear Esther, Thank you for the feedback. I am terribly sorry that you feel this way about your experience amongst us. What you describe does not reflect the level of service or the type of experience that us and our staff members strive to provide. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. I know that one of our Managers was in touch with you and had addressed these situations. I hope it is up to your satisfaction. Again, thank you for reaching out and we hope that you will present us with an opportunity to meet your expectations in the future. Best regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Loved the hotel, sad the restaurants (breakfast/dinner/desert) was so expensive. A little isolated. But free ferry to the city was a great perk. Indoor pool there was a charge of $39 to use but is free in the evening it was warm and clean. Absolutely recommend it if you can afford $33 for breakfast per person beautiful selection even gluten free to be fair you can go continental and pay $22. Staff friendly and helpful. We only went for a couple of days over New Year’s Eve and it rained one day so we were at a loose end and second day sun shone and was in the 70f range I got a tan. Loved my trip it had a brutish feel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear yvonne, Thank you for the review. It is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience in Bermuda and at our resort. We have a lot to offer. Glad you ended up with a nice tan! Thank you for the feedback. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst service

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Its was about the worst place I have ever visited. When people go in vacation to Bermuda, it’s because they want to relax. Not get stressed about how terrible the worker’s attitudes are. Super rude. The employees are obviously not happy about their job or hate their lives or something because this place is a place where no one should visit. Plus the hotel is old at best “vintage”
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Francois T, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that you feel this way about your experience. What I read does not reflect the level of service that we strive to offer our guests at the Fairmont Southampton. I am terribly sorry that this is the impression that you had from our property. You may rest assured that I will share your feedback with our teams in order to prevent any dissatisfactions like the one you expressed, from happening again in the future. Best regards, Francois Thibodeau Fairmont Southampton