Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Nice hotel, very convenient location

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Bed very hard and lumpy pillows. Asked for more pillows and they were as bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Close to the port
Cons: Just about everything
This hotel was horrible, dirty. Air Conditioning vents in the bar were caked with dust. We booked a suite. The balcony smelled like an ashtray, cigarette butts littered the floor of the balcony. There was no couch, and very little furniture in the huge room. There were no lights around the bathroom mirror. Exposed cords were hanging down from the mirror. I shaved in the dark. There was only one bar of soap, and one tiny body wash bottle for two people. Only 3 pieces of Kleenex were left, with no refill. All of this came to light in the morning after we had started our showers. I talked to the manager of the hotel and she said her hands were tied since we booked thru Expedia. She could not give us a refund.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queen elizabeth cruise

Stay at Grand Harbour Hotel.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The room
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Good
The stay at the hotel was ruined by the breakfast experience. It was by far the worst breakfast I have ever had at any hotel throughout the world. A member of staff was rude. There were flies on the food and when mentioned to a member of staff the response was 'they are moving so fast I can't catch them. Out of 10 the score would be minus 10. A pity because the room was clean and comfortable and reception staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from glasgow

nice hotel and ovenient for shopping.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: convenient location and good service
Cons: cheaper bar prices
Location: shopping mall great and good for cruise ship watchers
very good breakfast and helpful staff. we ordered a taxi on our departure which arrived on time and any other directions given by staff were good and helpful. bar prices were rather expensive but as we don't drink very much it was not a problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I have stayed in Southampton many times and I have always used chain hotels such as ibis, Novotel and jury's inn. This time I was in Southampton to celebrate a special occasion and wanted a bit more luxury. The pictures of the grab harbour looked amazing and I paid £150 for a over night stay. When I got to the hotel our bags were kept as the room was not ready untill 3pm which was fine so we went shopping. When we arrived back we went up to our room to get settled in. The room was not clean! I walked in to find a old tatty room, no proper lighting, dust all over desk and table. I then entered the bathroom to find hairs in the bath tub. Me and my partner had to clean it ourselves. Barring in mind they said it's a 3pm check in as the "cleaners" are doing their jobs and cleaning the rooms for the next people coming. The bin bags were not even placed into the bins properly. Very lazy "cleaners" I'd say. I didn't want this to ruin my day so I didn't complain. If you dont take breakfast for £20 the next morning there is actauly no other food so you have to starve! The hotel bar had a small menu but no healthy options were on there all I wanted was some scrambled egg and toast or some fruit. The bar staff were not helpful and said it's only what's on the menu and not everyone likes to eat sausages bacon and burgers! I then asked at reception if they could help to ask for food and all they told me was to go back to the bar where I had allready been. waist of £150!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton Eng

Nice cruise ship location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
4 star rating...most staff are friendly...reception on our first stay not too friendly... 2nd stay reception was pleasant and we got our room earlier than planned... Would recommend Hotel...we'll stay again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Cunard,s Cruuis e terminal

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Proximity to cruise terminal, book store, historic sights. Staff were very accommodating...champagne was well served Breakfast was great.
All staff were very friendly and obliging..THankyou!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Cruise

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location. Close to old town where we found a great pub for lunch. Also close to a large mall with lots of dining options
Location: Food, drink, shopping
Choose this hotel as it was close to the cruise port.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wells, Somerset

convenient to the docks

Posted Sep 4, 2017
very long lines to check in, insufficient reception staff on duty. Confusion about availability of drinks in bar. Coffee in bar and at breakfast was terrible. Very leaky glass pyramid bar seating area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poole

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: being woken by a fire alarm at 2am which then woke the kids there was no apology in the morning or a courtsey call to say it was a false alarm!
Location: West quay Southampton perfect for cruising he next day, has loads of shops and food courts to suit everyone's needs and taste buds
I have stayed here before but was the 1st for my partner and kids, they loved it, enjoyed the pool. Roller beds and cot were provided free of charge which was an added bonus. Beds were very comfortable, room was clean and spacious plus we had a bath and seperate shower so perfect for us all to get ready in the morning. Breakfast was also nice. Only down side was the fire alarm going off at 2am that woke us up