Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax Nova Scotia Canada

Comfortable in Southampton

Posted Mar 6, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay st the Holiday Inn Southampton. Mellisa at the front desk although training was very pleasant snd helpful. S was Dominic from the front desk staff. The delight of the stay was Ruth from the dining room staff. She was there to greet my wife and I with a big smile each morning and was very kind in seeing that our needs were met. She endured that she had things set for us early on the morning of our departure. She is a gem and I hope the hotel is aware of this. Overall great stay despite being there during the time of the “beast from the East”. We missed a couple of days at the spa facilities. We truly enjoyed the pool and bringing our granddaughter for her first swim at one year old.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Close enough to the centre and cruise terminal. Worth the money we paid. Refurb happening now, which is needed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Dec 20, 2017 on Hotels
We were disappointed to find that the Holiday Inn Herbert Walker Avenue Southampton was undergoing a refurbishment. Staff were very apologetic though. The evening meal was not to our choice and seems to be orientated towards a younger generation. On the plus side the breakfast was excellent as was the ambience of the dining room at that time. Disappointed to find that we were not given a double bed as requested. This, we were told, was the type of booking we had and also due to shortage of rooms due to refurbishment. All praise to all staff as they were most courteous and friendly. As it was an extremely cold due to adverse weather conditions the room/bed was cold but on request we were given an electric heater and another duvet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff and the breakfast
Cons: The hotel is in desperate need of modernization. At the time of writing, the guest rooms were being renovated but ours had not yet been done.
Location: Extremely close to one of the main cruise terminals and not far from the others. A 5 minute walk to the town centre and excellent shopping mall.
The hotel is situated immediately next to the cruise terminal that our ship was berthed at. Hotel checkout to checking in for our cruise was less than 3 minutes walk away....! The hotel itself is 'a little tired' but is in the process of being renovated. The service was excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient. Highly recommended....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Mixed Feelings

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: staff & breakfast
Cons: not advised that builders were on site when booking.
Location: I went on ferry next morning so didn't look around Southampton. maybe one for the future.
so sorry to write this as I had a choice of the grand harbour opposite which has many more facilities and where i would stay another time. Holiday Inn in throes of refurb and looked unloved externally on arrival; there were builders drilling close by my room til just after 5 p.m.which overlooked a huge docks car park - I arrived around 3 30 p.m. only a casual tex mex type restaurant. the room was clean with open type hanging area, no wardrobe. I asked for a double but was given a twin. tea tray good .i ate in my room but had to pay at the bar downstairs as I hadn't left my card details at reception since I paid for room in advance, which negated it a bit. no issue with the burger and cheesecake. I'm sure its good for some people, but its not my kind of hotel sadly. Prefer a little more old style comfort in lobby areas and a nice restaurant. Breakfast was good though and staff were very nice.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freeland, WA

Convenient to waterfront

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, accommodating staff, comfy beds
Cons: The shower in this room was defective
Location: Convenient to waterfront, mall, Mayflower Park. About a 20 minute walk to the SeaCity Museum and Titanic exhibit.
Overall the room was comfortable and clean, just a few minutes' walk to the ferry to the Isle of Wight, various other sites, and a local mall with many food options. The one drawback was that the shower in our room was defective. It had two temperatures: scalding and scorching. The staff was very responsive when we voiced our concerns. Upon staff checking it out and determining that it would require more than just a quick fix, we asked if we could have a key to another room so that we could use that shower, and that request was granted. The hotel was being renovated while we stayed there and hopefully this issue will be addressed. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Very convenient location to the cruise terminal

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Cons: The first day the room was very cold. I mentioned it and I received 2 heaters. Unfortunately, the bathroom remained cold, so I did not take a shower.
The staff was very helpful. I'd like to mention one member who help me a lot with my mobility difficulty. It was the operation manager mr. Dilip Damodaran. The breakfast selection and quality was great and plentyful. I had a handicapped accessible room but with a bath tub. In case you will remodel the room place a shower instead
1 out of 5
by Elizabeth


Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
Pre cruise stay and all this hotel was interested in was a cash grab because the Boat Show was on. We had to walk from the street to reception with our cases/bags IN THE POURING RAIN as this hotel had rented all around the hotel to boat show vendors, taxis could not get near! When we spoke to reception regarding this the receptionist answered us rudely “the boat show is on” ... would like to ask the hotel manager what about all the pre and post cruise customers that stay at this hotel almost all year round? this was just one of a number of disappointing incidents at this hotel, pre/post cruisers choose some place else to stay.
2 out of 5
by John

Very old and tired hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
The location of the hotel is fantastic, but the condition of the hotel is abysmal. The windows are so bad you can hear everyone in the parking lot talking at night and the traffic noise, which is very loud. The paint in the bathroom was peeling off the ceiling and the shower wouldn't drain. This place is old and very tired. We actually had to wait on ourselves in the restaurant for dinner. Spend the money and stay at a nicer hotel.