Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinjarra W Australia

Southampton Close to Cunard Dock

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Close to CBD and cruise terminals
Cons: OK
Location: Good Indian cuisine at the Coriander Lounge
Very hard to get into as the Boat Show was being set up. The road in was blocked as was the drop off and pick up outside reception. Once inside was typical Holiday Inn format OK but nought special. Staff at reception pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Close to cruise ship

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Closeness to cruise ship. Fish and chips were excellent.
Cons: The bathroom needs a major update, along with a toilet that works. Overall, the whole hotel could be updated.
Location: Location is close to cruise ships. Didn't go look around.
The closeness to the cruise ship was the best part of our stay. The hotel knows how to charge for the price of room because of its location. Our room (bed, sitting area) was very nice BUT the bathroom was awful. First of all the toilet would not flush, no face towels available. I think this hotel is fairly old and definitely needs a major update, especially the bathroom. We paid $185 for one night. Next time, if there is a next time, I'll try and get something next to National Express (bus company). Friends stayed in a B&B, very nice, for considerably less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, carpets, walls
Location: The location was great for cruisers and there's historical points of interest, restaurants and shopping within 5 min of the hotel.
Appears the hotel had a bit of an update but still lacking. The buffet breakfast offered a good selection. The location was great for cruisers and there's historical points of interest, restaurants and shopping within 5 min of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Old and tired but close to the ferry

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Redecorate rooms, new tile and caulk in the bathrooms
The hotel is old and in need of some serious refurbishment. The staff was great, but condition of the room was tired, and the elevators are small and a little clunky. Food in the restaurant at dinner was mediocre, but the breakfast buffet was actually quite good. Best part is the location right next to the ferry terminals and one of the cruise docks. Also easy to walk to shopping and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Good hotel, close to cruise port

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the place where our ship was docked--a 5 minute walk!
Cons: The windows in the room were hard to open and close.
Location: Great location--close to docks and a short walk to the centre of the city.
The hotel was very good. It's location was excellent for those cruising out of Southampton. Also, it was a short walk to the middle of the city so it was easy to get to the local pubs for dinner or a drink. The hotel staff were very nice and they breakfast they served was excellent, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Stop over

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Ideal hotel for cruise connections. Goid breakfast, walking distance into town, shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice hotel close to the port for our cruise

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: clean friendly
Cons: nothing for us
Location: restaurants and shops
Quiet - restful we were only there one night - what else can we say - it was easy to walk to the port and board the ship the view from our window out to the port was lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Attended friends wedding locally and reception was held at the pier Resturant which was literally just across the road
3 out of 5
by Kevin

Tired and needs updating.

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very convienient spot if you are cruising in or out of Southampton.....but I feel they get away with a lot because of the location, this use to be a good hotel chain but over the years it has not had the updates they need, curtains have holes in them , nets are dirty and have holes, lots of old dust on the light fitting in the bathroom and the bathroom walls need a good cleaning over the shower height. Apart from the public areas the rooms are tired and need updating. The check-in staff were very busy and could have done with help, but friendly and efficient, apart from the male representative who we asked for a bottle of water when we got in at 11.pm who honestly looked and acted like he couldn't have cared less.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Stay before a cruise

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night before cruise/best location for any one going on a cruise