Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

Disappointing service and overall experience

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: location and bedrooms
Cons: management and training of food & beverage staff in all areas of the bar and restaurant
A nicely located hotel, with a good rating therefore setting expectations for a pleasant stay. Rooms are very nice and clean/comfortable. General housekeeping standards look to be good. However, food/beverage management is seriously lacking. The service was beyond poor at times, and the effort was on guests to track down staff in order t be served. Once that was achieved it was a marathon of effort to try to obtain anything that we wanted... drinks and food items we were told weren't available, and subsequently found were. Quality. Drinks served poorly and not even what was asked for. The replacements also being hard work. And extremely dirty glasses. Over an 1.5 hour period we managed to get 1 drink each! We did eat in the restaurant one of our evenings though and the food and service in there was very good. But there does seem to be a general issue across the board with numerous items not available/out of stock etc. This hotel has potential but isn't well managed. With small adjustments, oversight and staff training they could create a better environment and more relaxing experience for customers. i'm not keen to relive the experience with friends...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The spa treatment was dire, facilities were inadequate, furniture tired around pool and the one lounger available was broken. Breakfast was very poor, with dirty plates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: elemis spa
Cons: check in and check out not enough staff on duty at either time
room clean and spa was lovely but food a bit limited in the sports bar but the staff were very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
great hotel location for events at Ageas Bowl. Room was tidy and bed very comfortable (and big). lovely breakfast. enjoyed a nice swim, sauna and steam before breakfast. service a little slow in the bar. enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's even got squash courts - but so 1980s

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and facilities are very good.
Cons: All of the decor.
Location: Way outside Southampton central.
Staff were lovely. It's an enormous place with indoor small pool, good sized gym, and I even saw a sign to the squash courts! However, the whole place looks so 1980s. The carpet, the furniture, the art, drinks, staff clothing.. pretty much went back in time. And the hotel is miles from anywhere, certainly not in Southampton (my mistake!). Overall I wouldn't stay again, not because they did anything wrong at all. Just that it needs a makeover to bring it up to date.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Cons: Bathroom very shabby also bedroom ceiling cracked .
Dinner times finish to early. Bathroom panel damaged, and ceiling cracked modern hotel should have a better appearance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Nice hotel let down by staffing issues

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Nice grounds, easy parking, very quiet in bedrooms, easy to find and well equipped bedroom with drinks making facilities, fridge and toiletries.
Cons: Our bed dipped a bit in the middle making it uncomfortable as one of us much heavier than the other. Slept "upside down" where matress less worn.
Location: Good location for visiting The Ageas Bowl as we were.
The hotel was very busy the weekend we went 27th/28th May. We ate in the Sports Bar where service was slow and food delivered cold. To be fair this was resolved on the spot and we were not charged for the meal. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was hectic with people queuing up for tables. There were empty tables but staff shortages meant they were not being cleared quickly enough. Range of breakfast foods was excellent and mostly self service. It would have been better, if on these very busy weekends, if we could have helped ourselves to coffee and toast as well as everything else. As it was we didn't get ours until we had almost finished our meal as we had to wait for it to be brought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Bathroom Looking Tired
Location: Handy for work
Helpful reception staff, good breakfasts, beds spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Leslie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels