Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North west

Nice hotel, only stayed one night but glad we did

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Only short drive to port to join our cruise, good food, comfortable bed
Location: We only travelled to port.
Excellent food and service, look forward to staying there in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly service

Posted Sep 28, 2017
lovely location around 5 minutes out of Southampton. swimming pool was lovely and the man working that area was very friendly and welcoming. When entering the hotel the man on the reception was very hospitable to my daughter. The only downsides were there was no water in the room and also the bathroom door didn't shut at all, it wasn't a problem as I was there with my small daughter. I would say though I find that it's becoming uncommon for hotels to ask 'how was your stay?'
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel in quiet grounds

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant evening meal was very nice. Would highly recommend and definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Nice hotel in a peaceful location

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Facilities and its peaceful location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Catering and staff ratio on a busy weekend.
Location: very good location to visit Portsmouth, Southampton and surrounding location.
Our four day stay at the hotel was on the whole a very good one. Our only comment would be, Sunday breakfast (bank holiday weekend) proved a challenge. Staff were thin on the ground and, Flora spread had run out and other items of food were missing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kitchener ontario canada

overnight

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Had lots of character. Great grounds to explore. Comfortable setting.
Cons: Friendlier more helpful staff especially on check-in
Location: No comment
Nice enough hotel but staff could have been more friendly/helpful. Used as an overnight stay prior to boarding a ship the next day. Poor selection to do so as site was too far from the dock. Our error.
1 out of 5
by JOHN

WORST SERVICE EVER..

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
The worst experience i ever had in a hotel.checked in for 2 night stay..check in was good.all downhill after that,i rang reception from my room..no answer ,tried another 14 times ,no answer!!walked to reception (about 200 meters through hotel) noone there.went to restaurant ..full..went to sports bar for food 1 person serving and bless her doing her best .ordered food and then no cutlery, sauces .had to go back and get them.food cold and not nice so i left it..went to main bar for a drink and guess what no one there!!was told by member of staff to go to restaurant and get someone to serve me..i did and they were not interested said to go to reception..i did got someone to serve me after 15 mins...( just back from my honeymoon in jersey and what a start eh) at this stage i had enough..very understaffed ,and staff not wanting to serve.except for the girl in the sportsbar (well done to her.a credit to that hotel,as for the rest useless) rang hotels .com . explained everything.the lady rang the hotel who would not refund 2nd night as i was leaving.hotels .com refunded it themselves..thank you a great company..never ever again will i stay here ..ruined my last few nights of my honeymoon..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

Disappointing service and overall experience

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: location and bedrooms
Cons: management and training of food & beverage staff in all areas of the bar and restaurant
A nicely located hotel, with a good rating therefore setting expectations for a pleasant stay. Rooms are very nice and clean/comfortable. General housekeeping standards look to be good. However, food/beverage management is seriously lacking. The service was beyond poor at times, and the effort was on guests to track down staff in order t be served. Once that was achieved it was a marathon of effort to try to obtain anything that we wanted... drinks and food items we were told weren't available, and subsequently found were. Quality. Drinks served poorly and not even what was asked for. The replacements also being hard work. And extremely dirty glasses. Over an 1.5 hour period we managed to get 1 drink each! We did eat in the restaurant one of our evenings though and the food and service in there was very good. But there does seem to be a general issue across the board with numerous items not available/out of stock etc. This hotel has potential but isn't well managed. With small adjustments, oversight and staff training they could create a better environment and more relaxing experience for customers. i'm not keen to relive the experience with friends...
1 out of 5
by Dave from Botley Park hotel

Never a 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Not a lot. Key card not working,dirty towels from the off,my girlfriends perfume was used while we were out and bottle was broken,drinks in the bar were astronomical,how they can get away with charging those prices is outrageous. Will never go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really Good, with small tweaks could be Great

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Free water, fruit, refrigerator, wifi, infant bed and activity kit, milk for the little one were all great. Huge amount of free parking meant you didn't have to swap paint with someone unless you really wanted to save a few seconds (and some people did as they'd squeezed into some really tight spots). The roadworks immediately outside the property only slowed entrance / exit by a couple of minutes each time and couldn't be heard from our room (sub-ground level overlooking the sports bar). Breakfast in the morning was excellent in terms of variety and quality, but a little disorganised as it was apparent some folk may have timed their entrance while the (relatively) few staff weren't at the front and so weren't subject to the check as to who had breakfast in their rate. Service was from 7:30 but when we arrived at 7:25 it was clear some folk had already been there for quite some time. Overall I'm nit-picking, it was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The spa treatment was dire, facilities were inadequate, furniture tired around pool and the one lounger available was broken. Breakfast was very poor, with dirty plates.