Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Can't be it's a Mecure Hotel: Terrible!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We thought this would make a nice post cruise stopover but we were wrong. Having read mixed reviews on this hotel we thought we would give it benefit of doubt. Bad idea! The hotel is so badly run down and has suffered from the most amateurish quick fix jobs that it probably rates as one of the worst hotels we've stayed in. Apart from David on Reception, the staff look as though they need training. Very inefficiently run. See our photos to give you an idea. There was even a sticker on the pillowcase! Dirty substances on walls. Really poor finish everywhere. We shall avoid this one in future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novato CA

Convenient location but dated

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the rooms. Better wifi Air conditioning
Location: Not much going on in Southampton. Good restaurants nearby and handy for cruises/ferry to Isle of Wight.
Very convenient for the ferry and docks for cruises. Hotel is 600 years old so some history but the rooms are very creaky and old. No air conditioning and wi fi is limited. The rooms were a little on the warm side even though the weather was not particularly hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but lacking amenities

Posted Jul 12, 2017
No air conditioning and no staff to help with bags. Told room was on ground floor but still had several steps to navigate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not One of our Best Hotel Experiences

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: Even a small removable screen would fix most of the problems.
We arrived sleepless after flying all night, and could not get into our room. The staff was polite but inadequate to checking many people in and out at one time. It seemed to take all 3 people on the desk to check each person in. The room, when we got to it, was VERY hot, even though it was not so hot outside. We opened the window, and two pigeons flew in. So the window could only be opened 1 inch. There was a tiny, ancient fan, which stirred the air just enough for us to sleep. And the shower had two water temperatures: scalding hot and even hotter. The pluses: the breakfast was good and served in a pleasant room. And the beds were comfortable. We will not return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Close to everything ant we had the cutest little room...
We had a lovely stay made better by Marisa at the front desk,she couldn't of been more helpful and pleasant,they have a treasure in Marissa,...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA USA

Hotel that should be great but isn't

Posted May 15, 2017
The location of this hotel is great! I was so looking forward to my stay here as I splurged a little for the last few days of my European trip. I was expecting really great things. However I was disappointed upon check-in and it continued until I checked out. The only positive aspect of this hotel was the dinner that I had one night in the restaurant. The bass was cooked to perfection and I really enjoyed it! I upgraded to a so called "privilege" room and assumed that this meant the room was upgraded in addition to a few amenities. However, I was booked into the smallest possible room in the farthest back corner of the hotel that they could get me. I was literally one yard from the car park. I had to walk quite a distance from the reception area through a walkway outdoors to the room and the outside door to the small hallway to my room had a broken lock. The room was extremely small and even though I could tell it had been built in the last few years everything was rundown. The walls were all scratched up and the furniture and the carpet were filthy. The bathroom was nice and clean but otherwise I was very disappointed in the room itself. I went to reception to express my disapproval for the room and the two girls there just stared at me and made almost no comment. The bartender did not want to serve me food and so told me to go to the restaurant and the next night he completely ignored me but served someone else instead. And finally upon check out the clerk was
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: Well located as stated already clean rooms and well serviced
Well located think parking Gould be free to guest s next car park should have barrier the doors should be soft close in particular the outer doors to the annexe rooms
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Never again!

Posted May 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance, and staff training.
Location: Location is central.
Accor seem to be increasing the price and decreasing the service! A "privileges' room was not a privelege. The entrance to the hotel was littered with butts and paper and the red carpet was filthy. The bathroom extractor didn't work and they couldn't fix it. The door to the downstairs area had a broken lock, been out of service for some time. Daily paper didn't happen. The Nespresso machine was filthy. Even took pictures of the mould growing in it. Had to book a 3rd night (unfortunately) and it was cheaper to book online as no discount offered. Although we advised staff we were staying on when we returned to our room the key was deactivated. Rooms are overcrowded with dated furniture. Bathroom was modern but toilet paper roll was out of reach. Breakfast was a disappointment as we had to clear our own table of dirty dishes before we could sit down. Only tried that once! Had to search for bar service, dirty glasses on tables and when we ordered two glasses of wine the bar person had to go and find a second clean glass. The entire experience was of a very low standard and would not recommend Accor to anyone in their current format.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Overnight stay in central Southampton

Posted May 8, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Bed and general decor
Cons: bathroom and check in staffing
Location: Very central to town and many bars and restaurants
Nice bedroom and comfortable beds. Bathroom could do with an upgrade as it looked fairly tired. Also 2 trainees on the check in desk made it less impressive at first meeting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stand!

Posted May 8, 2017
Although we only planned to stay one night, before a cruise, I won't forget the name of this historic landmark and will tell others how charming this place was! First & foremost, the staff was outstanding. Our room was cozy and clean, with a comfy bed & adequate accommodation for two. The English breakfast was delightful (although not included, the small fee was worth a lovely spread of delicious foods! Walking distance to restaurants & pubs on Oxford St., a charming "walk street". There are many lodging choices & far more luxurious hotels, but we were pleased with the historic value.