Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Good position , offset the poor acc ommodation

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The car parking & it's position
Cons: Rather not say
Location: Near to West Quay mall
Room cold. Got moved eventually. Both rooms tired appearance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: it was close to the city centre
Cons: the attitude of the staff
The hotel it's self is nice but the staff was horrible. the reception staff was very rude and unhelpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: very far from train station and cruise port
the hotel is very old and not good location. I don't like it!.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Poor hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Apart from one lady reception staff don’t understand English properly. Rooms very tired need upgraded and we were in a privileged room !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So. California

We expected more from a 4 star hotel.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The location
We dined in your restaurant, the wine glass was not clean, my fish and chips was served on a wooden platter and in newspaper, REALLY!? I would have preferred a clean glass and a clean plate. The room conditions were adequate, but I think the 4 stars were passed out somewhat liberally.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam BC

Great location.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: We like to stay in hotels with some history without cookie cutter layout.The lengthy interesting history and great staff made this hotel charming.
Cons: Refurbishment of tired looking pieces and areas.
Location: Close to cruise terminal. Walkable to most things like restaurants, pubs and shops. Close to a grocery store.
We stayed one night prior to a cruise. We were in a room with one shared bed and friends were in a room with two single beds. We felt our room was a good size with a great view, and extra seating. The other room with the two beds was really big. They had a full seating area with a couch and chair. Our rooms were looking over the very busy street and yes there was night time noise. The hotel does supply ear plugs, however even as a light sleeper the noise did not bother me. The hotel is charming with a great history. The staff were wonderfully helpful. We were even able to check in earlier than their stated time. Great walk-about location. There is an interesting long history with this hotel and the layout shows it. Accept the offer of help from the staff with your luggage as there are some small corridors and small up/down extra stairs. The hotel does look a bit tired in spots however it appeared that they are trying to keep up. Bare in mind the age of the hotel and the location. This charming historic hotel is in Southampton,close to the sea and faces the usual problems caused by the sea air. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Mercure Dolphin

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The hotel is quite tired and could do with a facelift. Pros: nice staff, location, good breakfast offerings. Cons: desperate for remodel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pre cruise

Posted Aug 24, 2017
No a/c. Had to climb two steep narrow flights of stairs with much luggage. No lift or assistance!
2 out of 5
by Keith

Don't go in the Summar

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel desperately needs some air-conditioning. My room was musty and hot, and the bed had only a thick duvet. It was just too hot to sleep. I opened the window one evening, but there are no screens over the windows and a pigeon flew in. Yes, it really happened. Quite a surprise on getting back from dinner. Yes, the staff were friendly. Yes the food was good. Yes, it's handy to be right on the high street. But none of that really matters if you can't sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Can't be it's a Mecure Hotel: Terrible!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We thought this would make a nice post cruise stopover but we were wrong. Having read mixed reviews on this hotel we thought we would give it benefit of doubt. Bad idea! The hotel is so badly run down and has suffered from the most amateurish quick fix jobs that it probably rates as one of the worst hotels we've stayed in. Apart from David on Reception, the staff look as though they need training. Very inefficiently run. See our photos to give you an idea. There was even a sticker on the pillowcase! Dirty substances on walls. Really poor finish everywhere. We shall avoid this one in future!