Ratings based on 852 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Single rooms not well maintained. Shower not working properly and bedside lamp not working. Rooms and bathroom need some TLC. Window roller curtain really tedious to operate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pe6

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Excellent hotel well positioned to carry out my work in this area I will use it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leek staffordshire

rooms tired

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: gardens rooms
Location: set in the countryside with beautiful villages within walking distance and only a short drive to the solent.
we have stayed here before and we will stay again wonderful location and buildings but the rooms are ready for a face lift work is now underway looking forward to returning. I would like to see the gardens around the rooms to have a bit more interest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely place again for our anniversary overall we enjoyed our experience the only thing that was lacking was the comfort of the room everything from the paintwork to the carpets all needing a bit of cheering up and tlc the outer bit off our room was also undergoing maintenance and let the scenery down a bit because it looked like a building site the room itself was also a bit snug to say the least also little bit dissapointed that we could not have the option of extending for a later check out as we got told it wasnt possible but on the plus side the main building and grounds were lovely and the breakfast was excellent as well as the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mk45

Warm rooms!

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Most rooms are not in the original building so not much character but very near and very warm !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A weekend of relaxation and escape

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We stayed at The New Place as it was on offer and we needed somewhere in the area. When we arrived we were struck by how beautiful the main building is. Hotel rooms are in more modern but nice, nearby 1 or 2 storey blocks a very short walk away. Room was nice, not dirty or scruffy but had a small amount of wear and tear. We were happy. Leisure facilities were nice, small gym with basic selection of machines. Swimming pool and changing area very nice, clean and well decorated, with good jacuzzi & sauna. The grounds are quite large and guests are free to roam both gardens and a nature trail through the forest. This was really beautiful, making the hotel feel like a haven from the outside world. Inside of the main building is still in the old original style (wood panelling and decorative ceilings) and is where the restuarant and bar are. Both serve lovely food approx £16per main meal and me met very polite and friendly staff. At the time of our stay there was a wedding on, which did not impinge on our experience at all. The place was big enough to keep the wedding group seperate. There were some closed off hotel blocks with bollards and orange tape, but this was fine with us as some kind of refurb or repairs happening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, well away from other activity.
Cons: The placing and style of the opening window was not conducive to good ventilation.
Location: Only an overnight stay so we cannot comment here.
A clean well appointed room on the ground floor. All was well apart from the fact that it was a very warm night for October and the duvet was so thick that we could not use it. Perhaps a more medium tog rating would be better overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bradford, Yorkshire

Top quality hotel in Southampton

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, well-maintained grounds, cleanliness.
Location: Easy access to road into Southampton and Portsmouth if you have to go out, pub about 5 minutes walk when turning right out of main entrance.
New Place is situated in a quiet part of town, away from all the main roads and shops. The grounds are well maintained with neatly cut lawns and gravelled areas enhancing the overall quality. We only had a 1-night stay so didn't have dinner but the self-service buffet breakfast was first class and included a range of hot and cold choices including a full cooked breakfast. Staff were pleasant and the room we had was spotless. Free parking also a feature and a leisure centre/pool available for guests with free towels provided. In summary, could not find fault at all and would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Had a great stay after a Grease pop up cinema event. Would definitely attend a similar event again. Great hotel with spacious and comfortable rooms and beds. Enjoyed the swimming facilities too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east sussex

Very cheap. Room is small with one or two cobwebs.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel itself is beautiful. Inside and out. Grounds and bar are expectional. Lovely staff in the hotel. Receptionist was a little cold! Very old television - needs updating.