Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Restful stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Staff, parking, so easy to get to cruise terminal, comfy room.
Location: Quiet lovely road. About 5 minute walk to Coop for papers and further 5-10 minutes walk for mix of restaurants, cafes & then shops.
Ideal hotel for overnight stay befor joining our cruise. This is a repeat stay for us which says it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Good value

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Easy free parking and nice breakfast . Good internet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great hotel with excellent staff!!

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We had an overnight stay before a cruise. Colin was an excellent host at reception and took us to a tidy, well maintained room with all facilities mentioned. The breakfast the following morning was varied, tasty and delicious 😋 Would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In quiet area, walking distance to train station

Posted Jul 26, 2017
We enjoyed the personal touch at this small hotel. It was located in a quiet area of Southampton and walking distance to the train station. The staff and owners were friendly and obliging. We ate several meals there that were delicious and reasonably priced. We stayed several days and went on days trips by train to both Bath and Brighton. I throughly recommend this hotel to any guests like us, who were in Southampton prior to boarding a cruise ship.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, breakfast.
Cons: Bed - mattress was cheap, wobbly and uncomfortable. Power on shower too high - not adjustable. Given white toast at breakfast with no choice.
Ok for overnight stay close to University campus. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Friendly and welcoming

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We were looking for a hotel in a quiet location near to the centre of Southampton, and the Blue Keys really fitted the bill. The staff/owners were very friendly and welcoming and breakfast was great. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Excellent hotel for pre and post cruise stay.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location staff and rooms
Location: Close to cruise port and shops.
Staff are most helpful. Convenient for shops and cruise port. Tasty breakfast. I would stay here again and gave to,d friends who cruise about Blue Keys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Friendly and comfortable

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and the comfortable feeling of the place
Location: The walk to the new West quay takes roughly 20 minutes and slightly shorter for the city centre.
The staff were friendly helpful and pleasant. The room was clean and spacious with free WIFI, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. So everything you need for a stay at The Blue Keys Hotel. It was nice to unwind after a walk around Southampton with a chilled glass of wine from their bar. On this occasion we did not dine in the restaurant but from what I could see of the food it looked very nice. I tried to book for a night in September but sadly they were fully booked already which is always a reassuring sign of their good hospitality, and that we had picked the right place to stay on the occasion..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
The hotel has a nice quite location. Staff was very attentive. The English breakfast was great. However, the hotel does not have air conditioning and the TV did not work properly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater FL

Quaint B&B

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Location, quaintness, relaxing atmosphere.
Location: Enjoyed walking around Southampton, especially following the old wall around the city. Took train to Winchester for the day, very easy to do, about $9
Enjoyed pre-cruise stay at Blue Keys. Located about a 20 minute walk from city center and 15 minutes from train station. Breakfast was great and we also enjoyed a few dinners.. Room and bathroom very clean. Hotel owners are very friendly and accomodating as were all the staff. A nice relaxed place to stay in. Taxi from hotel to cruise ship was about $10.