Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Olde Worlde kind of place. Very clean and tidy.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Just stayed the one night. Very pleasant. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Don't stay when the temperatures are warm.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Imagine...80 degree temps, old hotel, 3rd floor, no A.C., no fan, open windows equals a dozen houseflies buzzing around when we arrived in the room, open windows equals hearing bar crowd singing at 1 a. m. and an old mattress. We thought it would be neat to stay in an older historic hotel in Southampton the night before our cruise. Boy, were we wrong. Miserable night after a very long, travel day from the U.S to the hotel. Oh, and don't plan on checking in early, not even 15-30 minutes. If we had stayed during cooler weather, the experience might not have been quite as negative. On the plus side, the location was great. Cafes and shopping right outside the door. Not far from train and bus stations or cruise terminals.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Only for backpackers / budget travelers

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location: it is nicely located in down town, but this is the only clear advantage.
Cons: Renovating this place.
While hotel front and location look promising, the rest is a disaster: limited lighting in the room (and sometimes even not functional), extremely tiny room, tiny shower, broken holder of the shower head, impossible angle (for comfortable watching) of the TV in the room, short curtain that does not cover the window properly, and so it goes on and on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old city centre hotel in need of renovation

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The best thing about the hotel was a clean bed and clean towels. The rest was dire.....peeling paint on the window sills. Carpet looked like it had been there since 1980. Impossible to shower as the water temperature could not be effectively controlled.....It was either freezing cold or scalding hot. I was glad I only needed a bed for a few hours sleep, but had to go to work in the morning without a proper shower. There was no hairdryer on the room. I would never stat here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Good breakfast comfy bed .smelly carpet in room very small room . Old and tired building lots of noise outside early morning . Disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nelson NZ

star attraction

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: its location
Cons: we were happy
Location: located in the main street and easy to find on GPS , handy to all areas and sites
great location , within easy distance of all amenities and good off street parking , if you want to pay 4 pound per night . staff were very helpful and the breakfast buffet was just the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blackpool

excellent value

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: great for bars , restaurants and shops
great value, central location. buffet breakfast is wonderful comfortable beds and newly remodelled rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Convenient hotel whilst waiting for cruise ship.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Search engine.
Location: Near to shops and port facilities.
Very adequate for an over night stay. Good breakfast. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las vegas

it gets better every time I stay here

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: I love the classic history and the fact it is privately run
Cons: they are already doing everything they can and need to
Location: Nearby all teh shop, the historic bargate, sea front, southampton walls, red lion and Bugle street
The old coach house is undergoing a slow process of remodelling, which has to be that way if you think back to a few hundred years and plumbing etc beds are so comfortable, rooms spotless clean or recently remodelled.. Remember it was an old coach house and some rooms can be small, so consider this when booking. All are excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just another decent hotel!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: There is nothing so bad that you can complain about.
Cons: Wifi in rooms
Rooms are small. Bathroom amenities aren't great. Responsive staff.