Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad, but I might not go back for a bit

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location, price, staff
Cons: Building is very dated (they do their best but can only do so much), solve whatever caused the damp carpet
Location: Literally dozens of restaurants nearby, few evening activities but the interstate and the "good" parts of Birmingham are right around the bend
This was my third stay at this location, and I may look elsewhere next time. I like the price bargain, but this time was more hassle than usual. The staff was great in accomodating our request to change rooms, which was necessitated by our first room having both damp carpet and an odor of just wet, damp air. My wife eventually started coughing and having chest tightness. A prompt room switch solved the must/mildew smell but didn't solve the damp carpet issue. I appreciate the work of the staff, but it's hard to enjoy a room that you can't comfortably walk around barefoot, no matter the price. Last two times I chose this locale based on previous positive experience. If I come again, it will be after some more intense shopping around next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham AL

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay!!! The room was clean and the staff was friendly!!! Coffee was fresh too!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Candle wood suites hotel was really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would defiantly stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Amber

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here just to get away for the day. The room was nice and clean, and the amenities were awesome-from the fridge to the cabinets......we loved it. Oh yeah, and the service was good too....really fast check in.
2 out of 5
by William

ANOMALY

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
This is my favorite place to stay and have stayed at this location many times. My air conditioner worked, but every time it kicked on it sounded like a toilet seat dropping. Also, staying above was what I can only describe as a professional pogo stick team. Front desk said they called them but didn't work. Like I said I love this place and just going to chalk this up as an anomaly.
2 out of 5
by Brittani

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
I didn't like the fact that my bed was not made for me everyday. Also, I had to take my soiled towels to the front desk & get them replaced myself. The smell of the room was awful. I had to spray body spray in the air conditioner. However, it was my birthday so I didn't complain. The room/ hotel was clean & it was very spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Been there several times and then went to Caritas

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The staff are very pleasant and helpful. They tend to go out of their way to help.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The location for me when I stay there is great. Easy to get around to all the places I need to. Easy to get to Caritas too.
Each time I go the hotel is very clean and neat. I like the fact that I can use the laundry facilities before I go home. The front desk people are very helpful and willing to go out of their way to help. Overall, I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Clay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Glenn

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Not happy with initial room choice. Given a handicapped room right next to front desk which had no counter top space at all in bath room. Customer service was questionable.