Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Excellent hotel. Everything was perfect, very nice rooms, very clean, very good breakfast. I recomend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. We are glad to see that you had an excellent stay with us. The compliments will be passed along and we hope to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Smelly dump

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing to like
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Sketchy area
Beware before booking, property does not look like it does in photos. Nor do ratings do it justice. Common areas smell of mildew, rooms smell like dirty feet. Entire property and area are sketchy. Do yourself a favor and stay away. You pay for a Country Inn but get Super 6 property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will look into the feedback you have provided and see what we can do to make things better for the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Evacuated during irma

Posted Sep 17, 2017
It was fair I felt the staff was un friendky Paperwork said we could check in at 3:00 but they wouldn't let us check in until 4:00
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issue you had during your stay. Our deepest apologies but during the storm we were short staffed and rooms took a bit longer to get ready then normal due to that. We hope this doesn't deter you from future visits, but we definitely understand.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down property with 5 star staff

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This is a run down property with problems (black mold on ceiling room where a water leak had occurred). However the staff is to be commended (especially Cynthia). We spent three nights at this propert due to having to evacuate from Hurricane Irma. While the property is run down and marginally clean, the staff was amazing during the storm dealing with all the issues they were facing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is gratifying to know that our efforts to give the best service possible has been appreciated. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay due to the condition and cleanliness of the hotel at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for further improvements. It is our hope that your next stay would be a pleasurable one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parkland, FL

Close to I-95

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The only thing this hotel has going for itself is that it's close to I-95. It is dirty and run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. It is a delight to know that the strategic location of our hotel was favorable to you. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect due to the condition and cleanliness of the hotel at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for further improvements. We hope for another chance to exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Overall this was a very nice to stay for the night. The rooms were clean but dated. The continental breakfast was good but could use to be updated. The staff was very pleasant and willing to accommodate. The only down fall is limited places to eat but the front desk was very helpful for suggesting take-out delivery service after our long drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time out to submit a review. We are glad to see that for the most part you had a good stay with us. We are sorry their was not more to our location then being right off the highway. We will pass the compliments along to the staff and hope to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nasty hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Wet carpet, mildew stale smell, staff would not change rooms for us. No breakfast and the staff let people smoke throughout the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear of the experience you had during your stay with us. We will look into the feedback you have provided in detail and find out where we went wrong. We will correct these issues for the future. We hope you may give us another try but understand if these issues have caused you to deter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Terrible costumer services and staf.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This staff need to learn more. Bad costumer services This staff need to learn more. Bad costumer services This staff need to learn more. Bad costumer services This staff need to learn more. Bad costumer services
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Our apologies for the experience you had. We will work to improve our services and staff for the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

We were passing though form New York

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff room was a good size
Location: As it was just for one night we didn't look around the area
We stop off at the country inn on our way from New York . Stayed just one night we found the staff and room was nice and comfortable would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time out to submit a review. We are glad you had a good stay with us. The compliments will be passed along to the staff. We hope to see you again in the future if you ever need to stop by the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

It was nice

Posted Sep 1, 2017
My experience was okay the location was awesome. The only thing they didn't have was the China plates that they talked about it was paper plates. They need to work on the doors some so they don't slam as hard you could hear it throughout the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We will look into why their was no real plates out during your stay, as their should be. We will also check on the doors. We hope to see you again in the future.