Ratings based on 1,464 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The room is smell like a wet dog and the carpet is wet and dirty. The stuff is not friendly overall experience staying in that hotel is horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had while here with us. These issues will be looked into and handled accordingly. We understand how issues like this can deter from future visits, but hope you may give us another try and see the improvements we make due to your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Posted Jul 14, 2017
My husband and I were supposed to stay at this hotel for 2 nights but we didn't make it past the first night. My husband woke up right before midnight with bites on his arms. At first we thought it was a mosquito. My husband decided to check the bed and found a bed bug on the pillow case.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had during your stay with us. This matter will be looked into and we will make sure that things are corrected accordingly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a nice hotel to stay.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff that care about keeping the hotel maintained.
Cons: Clean out trash every day, take any empty dishes for guests, and if towels are used, replenish towels to the way they were when your guests check in.
Location: The hotel is located near other hotels. Town Center is approximately 10 minutes away which had a lot of food/shopping options.
The staff were very friendly and courteous throughout our stay. We were there for a week. It was a little smaller than I had hoped and there wasn't a bathtub. The room felt very damp the entire time we were there which made it a little uncomfortable, but they are located in Florida and Florida is humid. I had an item that I was trying to dry throughout the week that needed to be air dryed and it never did just to give an example. The rooms were kept clean with towels, but all of the towels weren't replenished on one occasion and one small trash can wasn't cleaned out another time. In addition, dishes were not removed in another instance, but all of this is trivial as I felt that they all were very nice and did a nice job keeping things neat and clean. There was a free breakfast every morning with lots of options and this was great!! Overall, I think everyone is very nice and does a great job at keeping the hotel maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that for the most part your stay was excellent. We will look into what you have stated didn't get done during your stay and make sure that their is more attention put forward in the future. We do have a humidity problem and are working to find out what we can do to correct the matter. We hope to see you back in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

HORRIBLE

Posted Jul 8, 2017
When I arrived it looked really nice outside but when I checked in and arrived at my room it smelled like the whole carpet was wet and it was musty as hell!!! I had to go out and buy Frebeze and used the whole bottle! Then my room keys wouldn't work so I went to the front desk and the rude little girl that was there throw my drivers license on the counter instead of given them back to me in my hand as I did to her then she still give me keys that didn't work!!!! I do not like the size of the beds they are too small. Will not stay again here!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the experiences you had while staying with us. We will look into the agent that you were dealing with and make sure they are trained on proper etiquette, as well as why you had issues with your keys. We understand how issues like this can deter from future visits, but hope you may give us another try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, and fairly well-priced.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The last morning we ran out of toilet tissue and there were no extra rolls on hand. My coffee filter was not removed any day. In fact, one morning my room coffee packet was not replenished and I had to go downstairs to get coffee--not a big deal, but I enjoy a coffee while getting ready for the day. The staff were very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. We are glad to see that for the most part your stay was okay. We will look into why you weren't provided with an extra roll and why you had no coffee in your room. We will make sure those things don't occur again in the future. Hope to have you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, convenient

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The only complaint I have, is that when I booked, the listing stated that it could sleep five in the room. There were two adults, including myself, and three kids 11 and under. We shared our queen size bed with our six year old son, who sleeps like a wild animal. Other than that, everything was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of the sleeping situation, but for some reason they believe that 3 kids can fit on a double bed. We are glad otherwise than that everything with your stay was fine. We hope to see you back in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Florida

Worst stay ever! Not an actual Country Inn & Suits

Posted Jul 2, 2017
We checked in about noon. We were up at 430 am for this trip, daughter played in softball tournamnet all day, we were very hot from being outside all day. Showered and left for a little while. When we came back, noticed room not cool. Room was constant 76 degrees all trip.. Showered again, room damp and musty, housekeepers came around out of the blue asking if we wanted deodorizer sprayed in room. We noticed a Dehumidifier in room, we empytied it 3 times in 10 hrs, room, and carpet were damp damp, We left for dinner, came back around 11:30 pm., still no releif, Could not cool it off. Exhausted, too tired, just wanted to sleep. We did not sleep well at all, Horrible stay for $$. breakfast area was too small, no where to sit, we left for breakfast elsewhere. Not an official Country Inn, private owner, only affiliated with them. VERY POOR representation, Country Inn and Suites needs to drop this place, its giving you a BAD name. Suppose to stay in another Country Inn and Suites July 7-9 in Tallahasse, Fl. With several other famlies for another tournament. Will be calling and asking about this hotel to make sure we arr not wasting money again , not sure if I can trust the Country Inn and Suites name again. Extremely upset and disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. We will look into the matter of the room not getting cool and why everything was damp, as the dehumidifier is there to keep that from happening. We understand how issues like this can deter you from future visits, but hope that you will give the brand another try.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
bad smell as soon as entered hotel room. worker did not knock before she entered our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the experiences you had during your stay here with us. We do apologize for those issues, as things should not have been that way during your stay. We will look into these issues and work on these matters accordingly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommending

Posted May 26, 2017
Older building, in need of renovation, and the bed was hard as a rock. I couldn't tell if I was sleeping on the mattresses or the box string it was so hard. Woke up in the middle of the with my back on fire from the bed. I will not recommend this hotel unless they do some major updating and gets new beds!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Also, we are sorry to learn that you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed at that time. We know a good night’s rest is very important. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure that situations like this wont happen again in the future. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westbrook

Good hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
It was a good hotel the pool was nice and clean. The staff was nice and answered all my questions with a smile and have a nice day. Only thing I didn't like was the next day of my stay once we left they didn't clean the room or put fresh towels out. Other than that I would surely stay again. The breakfast made my heart sing!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time out to submit a review. We are glad to see for the most part your stay was great. We work daily to improve our property and services. We will look into why you had the issue with housekeeping your second night. We hope to see you again in the future.