Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville

Never again.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Lady in office was very unfriendly as if my checking in was too much of a hassle. The room itself was fine but the bathroom was awful. I was afraid to touch anything in it. The only real plus side was that it was very quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Horribly Managed

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Hotel had just reopened after regaining their power from the Hurricane. After checking in the room floor hadn't been vacuumed. There was no wifi, but it was late so we stayed just the same. My main reason for choosing the hotel had been their offering breakfast in the morning, which the lady at the front assured me they would have. The following morning after waking up we went to get the breakfast only to find the only offering was stale bread and stale cereal. No milk was immediately available and the front desk employee was too busy outside smoking to offer to come in to help. We had to walk outside and get him though he clearly saw and knew the problem. The only coffee that was offered was not even room tempature and we were told the juice stopped working because of the hurricane, and all of their other food was ruined. Why Open? Why doesn't Expedia have a screening process. I asked to speak to someone else and no one was available. I called Expedia and my displeasure only grew as Expedias representative comprehended English so very little that he kept repeating the same poor grammar line no matter what I said. He offered to contact the hotel and call me back but yet he never did. Which I knew would be the case before he hung up. This stay and lack of effort lead me to use something besides Expedia last night and probably for in the future. Poor poor customer service on both the hotel and by Expedia. not Happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments and apologize for not meeting your expectations. No one could have anticipated the level of damage incurred by the city of Jacksonville as a result of Hurricane Irma. Normal food, amenities, and local services that all of us take for granted were in short supply in the aftermath. We were fortunate to have power, and we regret that we were unable to provide the level of service we are normally known for delivering. Thank you, Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Kinda dated, poor neighborhood

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The office was locked, staff fearful of the area. People partying outside late both nights. Not exceptionally clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry your sleep was disturbed by noise from nearby guests. Our front desk is available to resolve issues, so we are sorry we were not aware of the noise problem, as we would have been happy to try and resolve the issue or move you to another suite. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will return as we would love to provide you with a better experience and a good night's rest. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice affordable room

Posted Jul 4, 2017
the rooms was nice and clean it was hard to find it I just suggest they put more light higliti g the nane but I was fine with the room and the staff I had a good experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We are sorry that you had a hard time finding the hotel, and your comments about the lighting will be shared with our brand leaders. We are always looking for suggestions to how we can improve. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will choose us again for your next stay in our area. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Don't stay anywhere near here!!!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!!! The staff couldn't care less, the place was disgusting and the noise and people there were frightening.
Location: The location was awful!!!!! Worst area/neighborhood
This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been to. Left after 5 minutes. First, there was a prostitute upstairs standing outside in his/her (was a transvestite) underwear screaming. Next, we go to the room and none of the lamps work. The bathroom light was the only one that worked, we turn that on to find a beyond disgusting bathroom full of mold (which I'm highly allergic to). Then someone outside our room starts yelling please help me please help me. The cops and a fire truck ended up coming to help who ever that person was. We left right away. We didn't get a refund, we weren't asked why we were leaving, no one cared that this place was not only dangerous but unhealthy and unsanitary. Places like this should not be allowed to steal unknowing peoples money! They should have a health inspector in there. It's just wrong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest evaluation. We're deeply sorry that our staff was not as responsive as they should have been in working to address your specific concerns. It is always our goal to follow up immediately and resolve everything to your total satisfaction. Your comments show that we have room for improvement, and we assure you we will be more diligent going forward. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unconvinced location.!!!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Too old hotel !! Everything need to be upgraded..... but very nice receptionist...!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Mgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We apologize that you were disappointed with your accommodations, but we are glad that you were happy with the front desk associate. Your comments will help us as we strive to provide our guests with excellent accommodations. We hope you will stay with us again in the future for a much better experience. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Motel meets hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I don't think the owner is willing to invest to make anything better so this is irrelevant.
Location: This is the only good thing about the brothel, you are close to everything.
This place is sold as a "Hotel" but is nothing like a hotel. The pool is actually the building next door and is in maintenance most of the time, also the rooms are dirty and stinky but the staff lets you know this in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Mgmt, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your accommodations and that these issues left you with a negative impression of our hotel. We hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to change that impression for the better. Thank you, Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The girl working 1st shift and breakfast were the best part. Room needed TLC but you get what you pay for. Left early due to rain and a visitor in room which is common in Florida.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown. We are happy you were able to start of your day right with our complimentary continental breakfast. However, we apologize for not meeting up your certain expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. We hope you will visit us again whenever your travels bring you our way. Thank you, Management
3 out of 5
by Jarred

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Jarred, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. Our goal is to maintain the highest standards, and we apologize for falling short of this. We hope to have another opportunity to make your next visit perfect in every respect. Thank you, Management
2 out of 5
by Sean

Cockroach motel

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
While it was cheap, you get what you pay for. Towels were dirty. Cockroach in one of the beds. Say no more...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
We thank you for choosing our hotel over others in the area. Please accept our apologies for problems with your room and for the inconvenience this caused and be assured we will take steps to prevent such mistakes going forward. We hope you will give us a chance in the future to deliver the type of experience you should always expect from our hotel. Thank you, Management