Ratings based on 2,241 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Comfortable stay at a great price.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We stayed for 6 days while visiting family in town. Hotel was clean, room was comfortable, staff members were friendly. No hassle check-in and out. Hotel is conveniently located, with easy access to major highways. This was not my first time staying here and I will likely stay here again next time I visit Jacksonville.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Stay Away , Filthy and Invested in Bed Bugs

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Its close to the beach but the stay is horrible and its filthy. Like a crack house
Cons: This placed needs to be demolished its a health hazard.
Location: beach
If there was a negative rating to give i would do that. To give even 1 is an absolute insult. First the hotel looks like a freak show from hell. The rooms are dirty and filthy. The beds are infested with bed bugs. We got bitten all over our bodies. The guest all look like crack heads. This is not place for a human being. If you can sleep in your car, You should. STAY AWAY this is a health Hazard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location was good
Cons: They could set out a better breakfast, instead of just coffee.
Location: Close to the highway and pretty close to the beach.
Close to the highway and although no food on the premises, there is a Dave and Busters right across the street. Hotel was clean and the staff was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, Neal. I just wanted to let you know about the restaurant that we do have on site, called Butler's Restaurant & Lounge. It is open from 4:30am-10am on weekdays for breakfast, and 7am-10am on weekends for breakfast. The restaurant & bar reopens for dinner daily from 5pm-10pm. We would love to have you stay with us again, and give our restaurant a try. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, fl

Could be better

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Too much large furniture, not spacious, feels cramp. Staff was pleasant, heard food was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, Debbie! We are sorry to hear that you did not like the furniture in the rooms. We are actually in the process of renovating the hotel, and bringing in new furniture! We hope you get a chance to come back and see us after all the renovations have been completed! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the. Price

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Clean, quiet, and comfortable. A self contained facility pool, restaurant, and bar in house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate you for taking the time to write us a review, and leave us a 4 star rating. We hope to see you back again soon, next time you're looking for lodging in Jacksonville.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Staff was always accommodating. Cracked ice bucket, woke up to all of the cups standing in water. Second night, dirt on top of bedding. Piece of trash that was there when I got arrived and still there on the day I left. Dirty shower curtain. No hot water and slow sink and tub drain. Room 313 needs maintenance
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Angela. We appreciate your review. We are so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your room. Thank you for informing us of these issues so we can speak with our department leads, and fix these issues. We hope that this experience does not deter you from giving us a second chance! We would love to have you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

don't be fooled by the nice exterior.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel exterior us nice. however, the room was not cleaned. the beds were made and clean linens were put out but the bathroom was not cleaned and the floors and chairs were not vacuumed and dusted. the shower walls had mildew as well as the shower curtain. the floors were dirty. there was an upholstered chair by the desk but it was so dirty that I did not dare sit in it or set my bag or clothes on it. the beds were super soft so very uncomfortable. the people in the next room stayed up all night and there were people hanging outside the hotel til late. I payed extra for the breakfast buffet in advance but did not have breakfast because the restaurant does not open early enough. we left at 7:15am and the restaurant was not open for breakfast yet. we checked out early because we had to be at our venue by 8am so we had to get breakfast at a drive thru.will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We would like to thank you for making us aware of these issues. I will make sure that I get with our housekeeping department, so that I can inform her of the problems you experienced when you were here with us. It is unacceptable for your room not to be cleaned. I would like to apologize for that. Our restaurant is open from 4:30-10am on weekdays for breakfast, and 7-10am on the weekends. The restaurant should have been open prior to your departure. We are sorry to hear that you will not be staying with us again. We would like for you to reconsider, and give us a second chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Good location, would stay again

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Clean and really nice
Cons: Breakfast buffet was no more than a normal continental breakfast
Location: great location, 10 minutes from beach or downtown. Dave and Busters 30 seconds away.
Good location, 10 minutes from downtown Jacksonville and 10 minutes from the beaches. For checking out Jacksonville this is an ideal place to stay. Has sleep number beds but they seem to be needing replacement. Still slept alright. Breakfast "buffet" is just a continental breakfast like every other hotel has except if you have to pay $10.00 for it you might be disappointed. Overall good place to stay and I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, Bryan! We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you were not impressed with the breakfast. We are sorry to hear that. I will discuss your review with our food & beverage director. We love hearing that you will stay with us again! We hope to see you soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tn

You added more STRESS

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: breakfast was good, but staff didnt offer us our vouchers until we asked 3 days into the trip
Cons: Know your hotel know if you have under the bed clearance that may be needed for handicap accessibility, and book the roll in shower if requested.
Location: terrible with construction. It may be nice when finished it was a nightmare in the middle of a monsoon.
Hotel was in a major construction zone. We were in town due to a death in the family. I am the sole caregiver for a quadriplegic paralyzed from the chest down. I called the hotel to make sure under the bed access and roll in shower, only to arrive and have a bathtub. We had to switch rooms the next day. In the middle of making arrangements for a funeral etc, you added more stress even though I had confirmed with your staff that our needs would be met. We booked with a price, but that price changed DAILY according to our final bill. The days we stayed were booked in advance. Facility itself was nice. Other clientele seemed a little on the shady side. Would prob NOT stay here again unless I couldnt find another room accessible enough for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the death in your family. We understand how hard that can be on anyone. We would like to apologize that the room you received did not have everything that you required. We would never want to add any more stress to any of our guests, so for that, please know that we are truly sorry. Your rate should not have changed from the rate that you received through Expedia. They should have all been the same. We would love it if you could give us another chance to show you that we are a great hotel. Thank you for choosing Red Lion Jacksonville.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
It is not as good as it used to be; however, the price is fair for what you get
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nicole Gorrie - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you for taking a few moments to leave us a review. We apologize that you feel as if we are not as good as we used to be. We are making a lot of changes at this time, to the interior and exterior of the building. We hope you give us a second chance! We think you will find that we are better than ever. Thank you so much for staying with us!