Ratings based on 2,381 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotelhotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Hotel was being remolded but can. Of be saved. Room and bath very small. TV and phone didn’t work. Bath bot finished. They should not have been renting room. They did give us a 20% discount but still not satisfactory. They will not see be as a customer again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for making for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville, FL and for your review. We are sorry that we couldn't impress you this time. We are getting daily all the renovation items that are going to take care of some of these issues. I will be addressing these issues with my managers to get them quickly corrected. Thank you again and please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Very disappointing.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The hotel needs a complete overhaul including furniture.
Location: Good area with many restaurants and shops. Town Center is not far away.
Expedia did not inform that this hotel was under refurbishment. The common areas were dirty and the non-smoking room we got smelled of smoke. We could not stay more than one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for making for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville, FL and for your review. We are sorry that we couldn't impress you this time. We are getting daily all the renovation items that are going to take care of some of these issues. The renovation is progressing and we will be a fresh, new and fully renovated. Sorry that we couldn't impress you this time. Thank you again and please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Stay

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Lobby area was clean and presentable, the desk clerk on the morning of check out was very pleasant and the right person to handle the guests
Cons: Training employees on better handling of fires for your guest, and making sure fire alarms work throughout the building.
Location: Location was good and easy to access, and in a good spot within driving distance to food and shopping areas.
Check-in - Which should have been easy, desk clerk kept asking my wife if she wanted to be added to the room after we repeatedly said no. Room - Very clean but no hot water!! The water stayed hot only for a minute then it became luke warm. This included the shower and the sink that were both the same way. Hallway - Carpet was very nasty in the hallway and by the elevators, although they say they are remodeling. Hotel - There was a fire in one of the rooms, and the fire alarm did NOT go off on the upper level floors. Desk clerk called and woke us up to tell us to get out, because a room on our floor was on fire!!! Security guard tells us to get through the smoke and take the elevator!!!! You can't take an elevator during a fire!! Stood outside for an hour while the fire department had to put the fire out! Checkout - Young lady was very pleasant, understanding, and empathetic to how we felt. She offered us 20% off of our bill, but that was not really necessary. Our stay had been disappointing, and we were just ready to depart.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville, FL and for your review. We are sorry that we couldn't impress you this time. We do have a private security detail on the hotel to avoid any risk factors. We also getting daily all the renovation items that are going to take care of some of these issues. I will be addressing with my managers your concerns and promptly finding a resolution. Thank you again and please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid 3 star. not a 3.5 that it claims.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I was looking for a nice hotel for a low price in this area. I didn't want a motel. I expected it this hotel to be a 3.5-4 stars. But it was not even close. 3-star is more likely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for making for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville, FL and for your review. We are sorry that we couldn't impress you this time. We are also getting daily all the new renovation items that are going to take care of some of these issues. The renovation will make us a beautiful Wyndham Garden. Thank you again and please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
There was no hot water and the floor was sticky. Also we had no toilet paper in our room. When we tried to call down to the front desk the phone didn’t work. The front desk was sympathetic however unhelpful offering a discount but then not following through. Definitely would not reccomend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville, FL and for your review. Is guest like you the ones that help us become a great Wyndham Garden. The adjustments made need to be followed up with Expedia because we refund to them and they will refund you. Please, not that this refunds take longer than 24hrs and could take up to 3 weeks to be finalized by your back. I will work with my managers to resolve these issues. Please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez, GM.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction and a roach

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Just wish they told us that it was under construction!! Then we were greeted with a roach on the ceiling! Was not happy about that !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville FL and for your review. We contract with Ecolab for all our pest control issues. We are un a month to month contract to take care of these issues, but we apologize that for this time not reaching your level of expectations. We are undergoing a full renovation that is going to leave us a beautiful Wyndham Garden. Please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time as we complete our renovation. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez, GM.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Not recommended for women traveling alone. There was a generally creepy vibe to this hotel, and after 11 there was a guy riding the elevator who followed me to my room. There was a hole where the fridge should have been, the wall-mounted hair dryer was not wall-mounted and difficult to use because of it, there was pubic hair in the shower, the alarm clock was an an hour off, the tv remote control was smeared with a brown substance, and half the parking lot was blocked by trailers making parking difficult. There was also no easy gas or fast food nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for making for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville, FL and for your review. We are sorry that we couldn't impress you this time. We do have a private security detail on the hotel to avoid any risk factors. We also getting daily all the renovation items that are going to take care of these issues. I will be addressing with my manager your concerns and promptly resolved. Thank you again and please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Douglasville,Ga.

Great location and value for the money

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The prompt attention to my complaints
Location: The location was favorable to nearby beaches and shopping venues.
The recent severe bad weather that past via Jacksonville was limited to various condition that was unfavorable at the start but was handle in an orderly matter that was also handle promptly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for making us your hotel while visiting Jacksonville, FL and for your kind review. Please, give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Respectfully, Angel Jimenez, GM.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rates, met (low) expectations.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location, rates
Cons: Upgrade bathroom fixtures, more breakfast options
We came to town for a wedding and were having trouble booking at the recommended hotels. Found this one close to the site with lower rates. As expected, the quality wasn't as high as the others, but serviceable. Tile floor got dirty real easy, which discouraged walking barefoot. Bathroom fixtures are old and corroded. At least towel bars and hooks were provided, which is a must for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Wyndham Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. We hope you will stay with us in the future upon completion of our renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Breakfast not included to Expedia reservations. A ticket was needed. The cost was $6.00 for Expedia customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Wyndham Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden for your recent stay. As is fairly common when booking through Expedia, some accommodations vary depending on your reservation. A cost for our breakfast buffet should have been referenced when booking. If you did decide to dine with us, we hope you enjoyed your breakfast!