Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Convenient distance from Tabir park.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Close to park where we attended a wedding. Beautiful wedding.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the shady part of town

Posted Jul 18, 2017
First the lady in the office said our card was declined and of course it wasn't. They call it suites but nothing about it says suites. Check for bugs. Over priced to be in the condition it was in and over priced for the location it was in. Very disappointed never again will we stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable place

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Same as above
Cons: Ok. Not too far from downtown ,about 25 minutes by bus.
Location: Not much to do around the hotel.
Nice facilities.Lots of room space.Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Guest Relations Briarwood Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We were happy to see that you had a positive experience with our associates. We were also pleased to read that the amenities met your expectations and that you found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Hard to get to. Old and needs updating.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Personnel were friendly
Cons: Conditions were adequate only.
Location: Terrible to get to. Had to go around the block 4 times to locate the entrance.
Barely adequate place to stay. It was noisy, people were smoking out in the hall, wallpaper was peeling, sink barely drained, was almost impossible to get to. I will not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Guest Relations Briarwood Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a positive experience with our staff. We are sorry that you had such difficulty in getting to the hotel. How the city has set up the public parking areas along Powell Blvd. is a little unusual, and it can be hard for first time guests to locate the proper entrance to reach our hotel. We apologize that you were disappointed with the facilities. Renovations are both planned and ongoing. Unfortunately they were delayed when we had some unexpected personnell losses, but we have hired some great new associates and we hope to get those plans back on track right away. Even if we do not have the chance to host you here, we hope that you will still take the opportunity to return often to The Rose City.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's okay

Posted Jun 27, 2017
I stayed here for the weekend of the 24th and the 25th of June, 2017 and let's just say I'm glad I spent most of my time at the event I went to. The hotel is nice looking when you walk in, but closer look at the details of the hotel looks not like the photos they share (of course). First of all when I went to check in, the lobby smelled like a gym, like people where working out in the lobby. It smelled so bad. Anyway, part of the ceiling was falling out over the sink where you walk in. The tables looked like they haven't been dusted in a few days, one of the pictures looked like someone threw lotion at the picture and didn't clean it up. there were flies just chilling in the room when we got into the room the first time and the last day? I found tiny ants by the sink. I'm so glad I didn't bring any food into the hotel because those ants would have been all over it. The people next to us were banging and being loud both nights we stayed so I waited to talk to the guy at the checkout desk when we check out and he didn't even ask how my stay was. All he said was "That's it. Have a good day." Didn't even give me a chance to talk to him about my stay. I will not be staying here again, that's for dang sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Guest Relations Briarwood Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We were dismayed to read of the issues that you encountered during your stay. We are not sure what might have caused the unpleasant aroma you experienced during your check in. We have asked the various front desk shifts, our housekeeping staff, as well as some of our regular guests to find out if anyone else had noticed anything similar when they were in the lobby and they were all unaware of such an issue so apparently whatever it might have been was strictly temporary. We apologize that the cleanliness and state of repair of the room you received were unacceptable. We want to make sure all of our guests have clean rooms where they can relax and feel safe, and we apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Our front desk is staffed twenty four hours a day so that any problems that might arise at the hotel can be dealt with day or night. Did you have difficulty contacting the office when the noise happened so that it could be stopped? If staff were unavailable or unreachable for some reason we are very sorry. We also apologize that when our associate forgot to ask you about your stay you did not feel you could share with them what happened during your time with us. Even if you seek accommodations elsewhere we hope you will continue to visit Portland often.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Room not ready

Posted Jun 27, 2017
I arrived early, about 11am, and was told by the woman at the front desk that checkin time was at 3pm. Fine I sort of expected that. When I returned the room wasn't ready and still needed to be cleaned. The same woman told a coworker "it was fine, he can wait". The gentleman, who was accommodating, told me it would be about 30 minutes until the room would be clean. At 5pm, I was able to get to my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Guest Relations Briarwood Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is important to hear both the positive and negative from our patrons so that we can always continue to improve our hospitality. We are terribly sorry that your room was not prepared for occupancy by the appointed check in time. Without further details we cannot say for sure but it is possible that is the day that one of our housekeeping staff fell ill, and by the time we were able to bring in a replacement it was several hours past regular start time. Regardless, your room should have been ready to go at 3PM. Staffing concerns are Our Problem and they should have never become Your Problem. Again we are sorry for the delay and inconvenience that you had to endure. We do hope that we will have the chance to host you again here at the Briarwood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Extremely Dirty, carpet and furniture stained, coffee maker but no coffee in the room, air conditioner ran but didn't cool . Windows opened but no screens. Did not feel safe in the neighborhood. nice lobby,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Guest Relations Briarwood Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. Guest input is always valuable. We were happy to see that you liked our lobby. We apologize that many of the other facilities were found wanting. Our renovation work is ongoing, and we are looking forward to the installation of new equipment, furniture, etc. We are also working closely with the city to address the problem of vagrant camps that have begun to spring up in the neighborhood. It is important that all of our patrons have a clean room where they can feel comfortable and safe. We regret that we failed to meet your expectations but we will continue to strive to improve every day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Scammed out of my money

Posted May 29, 2017
Woman from the front desk assumed I was someone else and started yelling at me and my friend about hotel policy wheni was just politely asking if I could cancel my reservation. After figuring out I was in fact someone else and not who she thought I was (a lady staying 3 nights) and my reservation wasn't even for that night, she calmed down and told me multiple times​ "no worries my dear, it's cancelled". I call Expedia to cancel on their end to get a refund and their systems were down and updating so I was told to call the next morning only to be told that my reservation was in fact not cancelled and now it's too late to do so?? Expedia tried to talk to the manager but the manager lied and said that no manager is in... Total scam I was lied to my face about the reservation being cancelled only to be charged for a room I didn't stay in and though was cancelled. Manager is avoiding taking any responsibility, zero resolution. Bunch of crooks working here. Was told to leave my name and number so the manager could get back to me when he's in and surprise surprise, no word a week later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Clean, inexpensive, well located near to services

Posted May 28, 2017
Short stay - comfortable, quiet, clean, car parking close and convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasco WA

payed to much

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything. for the money you figured there would have at least been a breakfast
Location: grocery shopping nearby
had 2 rooms. one with old rug needed to be thrown out 15 years ago and the second room floor updated but bathroom door was not attached due to dry-rot. payed way to much. Motel 6 is a better Choice.