Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Quality hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No improvement needed, in my opinion
Located on the seafront, this quality hotel is in a great situation with car parking. We had a superior room, which was a little more expensive but had all the extras you expect from a top hotel, bath robes, slippers, etc., etc. It was very comfortable indeed. The hotel is well presented throughout, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, as you would expect from such a place. Highly recommend, and, in my opinion, very good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Isabelle Solimena, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Roslin Beach Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you had such an amazing stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2017
There was a comfortable clean bed, an outstanding shower and excellent staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Isabelle Solimena, Hotel Management
Dear Natasha, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you had such a fantastic time here at the Roslin Beach Hotel and I will pass your kind words onto our team who strive to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience when staying with us. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milton keynes

Nice hotel, good choice of food at the restaurant.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Good value. Room nice and bed really comfy. Restaurant good value too. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Isabelle Solimena, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are so glad that you had such a fantastic experience with us. I shall pass your kind words to our team who strive to ensure all of our guests' expectations are met and exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cologne

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Can't find fault with this place - even had Marmite! Comfy, cosy, and a jolly good find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Isabelle Solimena, Hotel Management
Dear Alison, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are so pleased that you has such a lovely experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great view, tiny room

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Modern, bright and great views. Staff were lovely, but not always properly briefed. I didn't have time, but the gym looked good.
Cons: Don't sell a single room as a standard double, be honest.
Location: The Chinese, above: friendly and fun: pick the fixed price menu. Right on the beach (sharp stones). Nothing else within a couple of miles.
Great view, BUT: Tiny, stuffy little room, should be a single, there is definitely not enough room for two adults. Bed was against the wall and so was the wife's face - she had to climb over me to get in or out. Bathroom: bent towel rail, lose toilet roll holder, the shower head hadn't been fixed properly and wouldn't stay up - worse of all, the cubicle doors did not meet- soaking the bathroom floor each time we showered. Had to remove the dressing gowns from the back of the door so we could squeeze in the bathroom! I paid £288 for two nights, personally I would not have paid more than £70 per night and then, only as a single occupancy. Breakfast waiter clueless: wife got coffee instead of tea, had to ask someone else for toast and were not told on either day that we could have had fried or poached egg. The hotel seems to have spent a lot of money on cosmetic things, but can't get the basics right. Location: car or bus journey from Southend proper. However there is a really great Chinese restaurant within 5 mins walk. If you manage to get in the car park, then stay there, as the nearest unrestricted road parking seems about 1/2 mile away. CARE don't park on the yellow lines before 6pm or you will get a visit from one of the many parking wardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really good quality hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
A smart small boutique style hotel on Southend sea front. Staff friendly and efficient standard of accommodation very good. Breakfast fairly standard affair but view from dinning room excellent. Would definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Isabelle Solimena, Hotel Management
Dear Gavin, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are glad to see that you had such a lovely experience here at the Roslin Hotel. With regards to breakfast, we have recently amended the breakfast to include a variety of choices suitable for all dietary requirements. . I do apologise if you feel the quality was not up to expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Isabelle Solimena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, being on the sea front.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Efficient check in; good bedroom and bath/shower facilities. Excellent buffet breakfast with very pleasant staff.
Cons: Water could have been hotter!
Location: Good seafront location - we were attending a family birthday, so did not visit any local attractions.
The hotel was easy to locate and had good parking facilities. An ideal place for a weekend break..
3 out of 5
by Ian

A little disappointed .

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Wet carpet fridge empty except for old fruit no towels phone not working center light not working 7 30pm room still not ready
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Melanie

Beautiful hotel & location

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel but they were having a refurbishment during our stay. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The only downside was the bed & mattress. I asked for a double bed & paid extra for a a bigger room but we had twin beds which were pushed together with a mattress topper which was in my opinion unacceptable considering the money we paid for our stay. I also wanted to book a treatment but I was unable to do so because the reflexologist was away which was disappointing I wasn't given this information before the spa had returned my call. On the last morning I always strip the bed for housekeeping & on closer inspection the mattresses are extremely old & need replacing hopefully this will be addressed during their refurbishment.