Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juan from NYC

Cozy family hotel in the Black Forest

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Great location. 5 min drive to downtown Tittisee. Several restaurants and shopping options. 10 min drive to Feldberg Ski resort. Family owned place with free parking, breakfast and wifi.
1 out of 5
by Uschi from Illinois

Poorly maintained.

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: It would literally need to be reconstructed.
Location: Titisee wasn't too far, and while it's very touristy and commercialized, we enjoyed walking about and exploring the water front.
This hotel experience was worse than disappointing. Rickety. Very rundown. Poor workmanship, and poorly maintained. Cheap, cheap quality. The top floor of the hotel shook when we walked on the plastic laminate flooring that was split in places. The shower curtains were 12" too long. Shower was flimsy. Toilet seats not secure and some of them had cracks. 3 lightbulbs in one room were burnt out. TV with a long extension chord were plugged into a power strip, along with all the lamps. Owner not friendly, nor helpful. We had loved the old inns, hotels, and castles we stayed in during our trip. All of them were charming and well-done, except this one. Overall, this was not a good experience, and I would never stay here again, or recommend it to anyone. We couldn't wait to leave. The crowning touch? Because of a booking glitch, the four rooms I booked turned into 7, all of which I had to pay for, (including breakfast and guest taxes), even though we hadn't used them, nor were given access to them. I paid more for one poor quality room here, than I did for the beautiful rooms we had in the Heidelburg Marriott. This was a terrible place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total Dump!

Posted Sep 3, 2012
This guest house was a dump. There were two families of four in our group. We each had young children and reserved rooms for 4 people. Upon arriving, they were only able to accomodate 4 in a room for one family. The other family was split into two rooms...this was not what was reserved. The hotel was run down and one of the rooms' walls were covered in styrofoam paneling. Our room, on the top floor had a broken window so we were freezing. The hotel staff was not helpful at all. Really dissapointing!!
1 out of 5
by O.U. Mom from Lima, OH, USA

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Pros: Location.
Cons: Dirty and unpleasant.
Location: Southern end of the Black forest region.
Room smelled of cow manure when we arrived. Floor was dirty, cobwebs on the ceiling, broken toilet seat, spray nozzle in bathtub sprayed in all directions (no shower). Check in process and all subsequent staff interactions were unfriendly. For 3.90 Euro, breakfast consisted of rolls in a plastic tote and canned fruit cocktail.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Worst experience in Germany

Posted Jul 7, 2011
The owners seemed bother with our presence, don't tend to feel discriminated or intimidated easily, but this people did a great job. If you are American please don't bother to stay here, they threat you like crap, and don't you dare to ask a question they are as rude as can be. My question is why is this place on Expedia, they should not advertise this property. If you are not sure about this property, don't hesitate to contact me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, UK

Totally Happy

Posted Sep 3, 2010
Very happy and satisfied with overall experience. Hotel was clean and rooms comfortable. Meals all OK with all you can eat buffets for breakfast and evening meal. A good mix of hot and cold food in the evening, though puddings were a little disappointing. Staff could not have been nicer or friendlier. Wfi always worked OK, used it to check out weather, local attractions and directions and routes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Terrible Service

Posted May 17, 2010
At first it looked ok. We Got there and tried to find somewhere to Check in, well there was nobody around. But on the table in there outside (covered) dining area, was a piece of paper with a name on it (similiar to mine but spelled way off) so i wasn't sure if it was ours or not, with a key and a note saying our room and when breakfast was. So we continued to look for somewhere to check in, it took about 45 minutes before someone came to welcome us, and i asked if that room with the wrong name was ours, he said ya ya, i said its not spelled right are you sure and he insisted it was ours (without checking our itinerary or anything). So we got in the room, and it was very clean and what not, we had one towel and three bathroom floor mats? It says they have cable, yeah no cable, there was 1 channel that came in occasionaly same with the internet, it didn't connect either. We had booked 2 nights, but because we were so dissastisfied the first night, we didn't bother staying the second night. I really wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Kaiserslautern, DE

Perfect Hotel for Snowboarders!

Posted Feb 24, 2010
The hotel was as expected, and even better. A nice small, family owned/oriented Bed & Breakfast sort of place. Lodged not to far from town. Perfect for those who are in town to Snowboard like I was. The hotel even provides a weekend bus pass into Feldberg and Tittisee. Free breakfast included with the price of the hotel, and a decent restaurant that is open pretty late. Serves tradition German food. The beds were probably the softest I have ever laid in, in my life. Very satisfied, especially for the cheap price!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manalapan, NJ

Very Disappointed

Posted Oct 14, 2009
Spent three months in Germany and hotel owner/chef was first rude German encountered. Rooms do NOT come with soap or shampoo- ifrst time ever experienced that. Owner told me no German hotel furnihses soap (a lie) and that I was free to go elsewhere. Hotel abuts major highway, so cars wake you up very early. Room felt like a basement. I could overlook all except rudeness of owner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good Place for stop over

Posted Aug 9, 2009
Room a bit small and run down, but clean. Hotel staff friendly. Food in the restaurant was very good.