Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay for a lot of extras

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: checkout staff, parking tickets to go far away to another office to get the hotel rate, annoying add-ons like paid breakfast, paid internet
The hotel is very well located in at the train station and you don't really hear the trains, which is positive. We also receive a daily bus/tram card for free (you get this from most hotels in Freiburg). The rooms are rather small but look good. What is annoying is the price for the breakfast buffet which is rather expensive (a Starbucks is located 2 minutes away and is far cheaper). You pay for the parking and to get a "low hotel rate", since it's the trainstation parking, you need to walk across the bus station, a 4-lane road to a small office located under a bridge. I find this pretty annoying. Then, it's difficult to find a parking spot since this parking is rather small and is often full. Next point is the Internet access which is "free". If you have a lot, I really mean A LOT of time, pick this option. It takes 2 minutes to show 1 page if you are lucky. This is just to make eight euros per day with their pricy high-speed internet. I was really patient with mine and my wife did not see with her phone that she picked the payable option, and she used hers only twice. Which means we had to pay the eight euros fee with me still having a slow line. The guy at the reception did not want to offer this to us and was not nice at all. We visit Freiburg 3-4 times per year, but we will never chose this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing& compfort

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Excellent
Centered , near the train station and city center Friendly staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
No AC making for a hot and humid room. Very noisy neighborhood making it impossible to have open window on a warm Freiburg night. Rock solid mattress and slowest internet in Germany adding insult to injury. Employees doing best they can with a miserable product.
2 out of 5
by John from Tokyo Japan

Stayed here expecting more, once...

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great Location next to the Freiburg train station but this also means very noisy at night...all night long. Granted it was the night that Germany won the Soccer match. But Pricy for such as small room. Breakfast buffet is nice but also pricy. Disappointed that they could not accommodate my early check-in request. Next time will stay at much better hotels nearby such as the Novatel which is much nicer. On top of this, they say I cancelled by stay and my Hotels.com Reward night was cancelled...but I have my receipt to prove I stayed here...once.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would never stay here again or any steinberger grp

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
despite being a frequent traveler here, my patience was tested to its extreme We were a family with kids staying in 6 business rooms for 6 days. Positives: 1. Location on the train station 2. Good views from our rooms Negatives: 1. Major disciplinary and attitude problems at the reception desk and occasionally at breakfast Restuarant . Irrespective of the attitude issues in Germany, I believe that hospitality and customer service in a hotel chain needs to be streamlined. Here some reception staff like Sergio and Ha Nguyen were nice. Others like tehnsin and a lady(??angie) were brusque, curt and just plain rude. One of them lied to us for simple things like saying we don't have kettles in this hotel . Strangely their representative has written on tripadvisor in July 2015 that kettles come as a standard in all business rooms. Breakfast staff attitude was variable. They start getting irritable at 945 since breakfast closes at 10 and make a fuss Checkout was horrendous . I was prepaid and paid my city taxes at 945 am. When my daughter went to reception at 1145 asking for the key to be revalidated.. He started shouting at her saying u need to leave the room . Our luggage was in the room and our keys had stopped working . We went to get our keys WITHIN the time we paid for.. But the gentleman at the reception desk chose to be rude to a child. Unacceptable in any country .. Germany or not Small Room size with poor soundproofing and thin walls
1 out of 5
by nimeesha

Not going back there

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very average hotel with basic facilities. Hotel staff were quite unfriendly especially during check out. The only plus point for the hotel is the location. Apart from that the rates are too high for the small rooms... Very basic facilities and unfriendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very convenient hotel close to the railway station

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Somewhat basic rooms.
This is an excellent hotel if you are traveling by train or intercity bus. The hotel rooms are basic but perfectly comfortable, and the hotel is well located to the train station and the city center.
4 out of 5
by Ngan Ting

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Frank from Grimstad

Good hotel with lousy WIFI

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
very bad WIFI. basically useless. latency over 1 sec and rate below 100-200k.Not recommended for biz people.
2 out of 5
by Samsiah from Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA

Extremely unfriendly and unaccommodating reception

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Positive points: Location is very convenient. Complimentary ticket for all transportation in Freiburg. Negative: The bathroom flooring is vinyl/linoleum and the shower door is flimsy. Both are a great formula for disaster. When my husband nearly slipped on the floor, the flimsy shower door provided some support but broke off from its hook. Upon coming back, the door could not open and when we asked the reception staff, they said we had to change room. Fine. We understood. But we were flabbergasted when (1) they asked for my credit card for verification, when I had paid in full, (2) the lady staff said that we had to pack our things from the room, come down to the reception with all our luggage, get the key to the new room, and then go back up to our new room. When I asked, “aren’t you all going to help us?” (at least bring us the key to the new room while we pack?) the male staff raised his voice, “ OK, IF YOU WANT HELP, I HELP!” He also questioned our motive for not reporting about the broken door in the morning. Did he think that we did it so that we could run off to the airport with it? Or did he think that we would break the cupboard door next! My advice to the hotel management, retrain your reception staff, send them to English classes, make them understand different culture, and do not use your German tone/ intonation when speaking in English!