Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay for a lot of extras

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: checkout staff, parking tickets to go far away to another office to get the hotel rate, annoying add-ons like paid breakfast, paid internet
The hotel is very well located in at the train station and you don't really hear the trains, which is positive. We also receive a daily bus/tram card for free (you get this from most hotels in Freiburg). The rooms are rather small but look good. What is annoying is the price for the breakfast buffet which is rather expensive (a Starbucks is located 2 minutes away and is far cheaper). You pay for the parking and to get a "low hotel rate", since it's the trainstation parking, you need to walk across the bus station, a 4-lane road to a small office located under a bridge. I find this pretty annoying. Then, it's difficult to find a parking spot since this parking is rather small and is often full. Next point is the Internet access which is "free". If you have a lot, I really mean A LOT of time, pick this option. It takes 2 minutes to show 1 page if you are lucky. This is just to make eight euros per day with their pricy high-speed internet. I was really patient with mine and my wife did not see with her phone that she picked the payable option, and she used hers only twice. Which means we had to pay the eight euros fee with me still having a slow line. The guy at the reception did not want to offer this to us and was not nice at all. We visit Freiburg 3-4 times per year, but we will never chose this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing& compfort

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Excellent
Centered , near the train station and city center Friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very convenient hotel close to the railway station

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Somewhat basic rooms.
This is an excellent hotel if you are traveling by train or intercity bus. The hotel rooms are basic but perfectly comfortable, and the hotel is well located to the train station and the city center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Convenient location for bus and train.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Location. It's proximity to the train and bus stations.
Cons: Offer the guest at least a free continental breakfast for the price they pay per night.
Location: You can catch transportation to or from anywhere there. Starbucks is close by as well as a couple of convenient stores.
The hotel is just there at the main Freiburg train station. If you're taking a bus from or to Basel Airport in Switzerland it will take you literally 1 minute to walk from the lobby of the hotel to the bus station. It will also take you literally 1 to 3 minute to walk from the lobby of the hotel because you have to go underground for one of the directions. Overall I'll say it's clean and the staff are friendly. The towels are very small and there's only one per guest. No shower cap for ladies and no shampoo or conditioner in the bathrooms. One pillow on a queen bed? One small bed sheet that's weird. Not sure if it's supposed to be a comforter. The hotel doesn't offer free breakfast. The free wi-fi is extremely slow (256 kbps). If you want high speed then you have to pay extra. I think that if you're going to pay that much money you should at least have a free continental breakfast. The hotel doesn't offer any.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from japan

Good hotel closed to city and station

Posted Nov 21, 2015
I left my cosmetic bag in the hotel surry and next evening I asked to the front desk. But they say no reported.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Ideal location, close to both coach and train station. Short walk to shops, university & museums etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and convenient for traveling

Posted Sep 19, 2015
It s a hotel in the center of the train station, but with good window shielding and thus avoid noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and reasonable price.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Breakfast should be included.
Location: Great location.
I like to mainly because of its location and price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tirana

Good location, pricey!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Its best was it's location. However it is expensive for what it offers. The pillow and mattres were very uncomfortable. In summer it is very hot and no air conditioning, with windows which can not be left opened because of the trains' noise. The stuff however is very polite, friendly and can speak well english.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is OK, although the room is small.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: Provide reasonably priced breakfast.
Location: Location is very good.
I chose this hotel because of the location and the price.