Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hikers, treat yourself to the St. Fridolin!

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
We had a 3-night stay in March. Getting to the hotel with no car involves either a city bus trip from the train station or a healthy walk up a gradual hill. It's in a nice, quiet, residential area, with no stores or cafes nearby. If you want supplies, plan accordingly. Our room (#4) was huge, approx 42 m², with a sitting area and balcony. The room faced the Rhine, which could be seen in the distance. The bed was comfy, and everything was very clean. Didn't make use of the spa facilities. Free WiFi worked well. The breakfast buffet was ample and quite tasty. The very friendly service staff was exceptional! They were always smiling and happy. Overall, a very restful visit in a lovely city. Was overcharged at checkout by 42€, emailed them when I returned home, and difference was credited to my card. We would stay there again if we're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Great place with easy access

Posted Mar 25, 2015
We were in Basel for business. The hotel is easy to get to. If you have luggage, take an 8euro cab ride. 12 minute walk down a hill to the train. Extremely clean but a little austere. The breakfast is classic German with everything from breads to fruit and smoked salmon. Nothing was a problem for the staff. There was a local rail pass included in the room for our 17 minute ride to Basel.
4 out of 5
by TO from USA

Good Hotel for a short stay in Bad Saeckingen

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
Nice little place, more bed and breakfast than a real hotel. Walking distance (20 min) to city center. Good breakfast. One thing to remember : Front desk closes at 8 pm - if you are planning on arriving later you have to prearrange this with the hotel - they will leave the key in an automated lockbox. It works with no problems but you have to keep this in mind. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by javier from NJ

not bad hotel for the price. I paid 80 euros

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Pine129 from Nashville TN

Nice little hotel near town

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels
I used to live in this town and never knew this hotel. I tried it and basically I like it. Adequate parking, nice facility. It is in a residential area and nothing within easy walk. My only concern was the check in paperwork was cumbersome and quite slow. All else was fine. Room while small was clean. The bed was ok. The flat screen TV was small. It only had CNN for English channel. I did not try the included breakfast.
5 out of 5
by milexz from Helsinki

Super!

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was super clean and friendly faces all around. Very nice breakfast room. Great service. Room a bit small for 2 persons but for short stay it was OK. Work desk not convenient for business traveler but space was available in lobby area and conference center.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Hotel or Retreat

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels
We had to sleep in the lobby the first night as we could not read the directions/code to operate the key drop. A longer story than I can post here. The room & the breakfast were excellent. The wall are a bit thin and were were serenaded by the passions of the couple across the hall one night while we were opening our door, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the lodging for its quality & proximity to Basel. The price was very reasonable! The experience surreal. Never did figure out the attached chapel and school.
5 out of 5
by Bruno Ferrero

Posted Jun 19, 2012 on Hotels
We did enjoy it very much,we wish we could stay longer, Michel reception was worm and usefull, we wish that it would have more English material, brochures or information about the town.
3 out of 5
by CHBPress

cute, but only cute

Posted Jun 16, 2012 on Hotels
wifi is free, but erratic. a single bed is just that a narrow single bed. there are NO amenities in the bathroom, no shampoo, no soap, no shower gel. the breakfast is good, and substantial. be forewarned, part of the staff does NOT speak German, and you must have a key for entry after 8 pm. no services after 8 pm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic hotel, great price on the German/Swisse

Posted Jun 18, 2011 on Hotels
This place was a very pleasant surprise. It's in Germany but right on the boarder with Switzerland. Great views, great service and a great price!