Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

disappointing

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Delivery trucks showed up at 4:30am and started making very loud noises getting their delivery into the hotel. Due to the old building, there is no insulation so this is a very loud process, or was from my room's location (#245). The bathroom had 8 plastic cups stacked on a shelf and two boxes of tissue which looked to be thrown on the toilet. These were the toiletries/extras in the bathroom. Very random. Not a huge deal except I paid $150/night. Two last things: coffee maker in room had no creamer/sugars. Kind of annoying at 5am. And lastly, there was a long hair that was stuck to my bathroom wall. Not so good again for the price paid for the room. I expected an old room, and that's okay. The other stuff just left me disappointed. I played the golf course years ago and it is fabulous. Too bad I can't say the same for the accommodations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

She's feeling her age...

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Was suppose to have a king bed.... Got a dbl... Had to change rooms cause the AC couldn't cool the room... Staff got me a better room with s king bed....Much better Pro shop not the friendliest....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Full of history and charm

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: We loved the rich history, the charm and character of the hotel. The golf course is beautiful and we'd love to play it again!
Cons: See above in "experience"
Location: Central to other amazing golf courses and near "new" and old restaurants and shoppes.
This hotel is full of history and charm. It says they recently underwent renovations but I can't figure out where. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated all the old charm and history of the hotel. The stairs need a good vacuuming since the holiday greenery is still on the carpet (its May), the bathroom toilet was dirty and the room had a humid-damp smell. The "bellman" was not a gentlemen (or bellman for that matter) and did not help me with my 5 bags, he stood and watched me in the lobby doorway and again the next morning as I struggled to carry everything! We would stay again because it was a charming environment but there are some things that can be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from x

Business trip

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: xx
Cons: Micro and fridge as well as an elevator
Location: xx
We were there on business and did not have the time to use all the facilities. The staff was outstanding. The rooms were a little dated, but it was built in 1921. Clean, but lacking modern amenities(micro,fridge,etc) Interesting place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Going back in time

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The overall charm of the place.
Cons: Some areas need a little sprucing up.
Location: Its adjacent to Pinehurst....Golf!!!
Not the most up to date hotel and if you want all the cool tech and amenities, then stay somewhere else. But if you like old fashion comfort, a place to kick back and kind of get off the grid, then this is your place. The staff is very nice, the service is excellent, the food is good, and a great old school bar with that dark comfy pub feel. Will definitely stay there again,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Close to golf courses
Cons: Get elevators, coin laundry and dryer, fix pool, lower the height of the beds. include icebox in room
Location: We just came to golf...didn't do much else
Kind of old school. No coin laundry, no kitchen, had to ask for icebox, pool was under construction. People were friendly. No elevators so we had to walk up and down the stairs. Good location on Midland road, close to a lot of golf courses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful golf course and facility.

Posted May 25, 2015
Cons: Front desk staff rather dull - when will my shift end attitude.
The Inn was built in 1921 with recent renovations - in good shape for 94 years old. Great meal and service at the conference center - couldn't have asked for better !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Cons: Reduce the price of drinks at the bar
Nice area, had a good stay, unfortunately weather was bad so we did not get to play much golf
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Mid Pines Resort

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the vintage style of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean and presentable.
Cons: Since there are no elevators, helping guests with their luggage to their rooms should be a no-charge service provided.
Location: There are a variety of restaurants to choose from and shopping is available.
I enjoyed my my stay there. The service was good and the food was good also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary from Virginia Beach, VA

Perfect setting close to the historic area.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING. The appearance, staff, food, nothing negative.
Location: The location was close to the Pinehurst Resort making it easy to take in the town and not have to drive.
From the minute we arrived, the staff could not do enough for us. Friendly greetings and professional in every way. The setting was perfect, the hotel was clean, the food was outstanding. If you are looking for an original older setting INN/HOTEL, with a great view and close to other sites then this is where you want to go.