Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great old golf resort.
5 out of 5
by Holly

Staying in Southern Pines NC

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
I loved this place! It was a throw back to a former era, which many people may not like, but which I love. The room was huge and comfortable. I usually can't sleep while traveling, but I slept great both nights in the comfy bed. The staff was always right there to help. Really good service. I will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of the beds !

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel had over sold rooms, we had paid for a golf course view but we were put in a standard room, desk person didn't say anything in the hope that we wouldn't notice. Room was very clean , bathroom small but spotless. Beds were awful ! Don't even try and change positions , the bed felt and sounded like it was going to collapse at any moment , pillows were as bad as the beds , take your own pillow I feel you stay here . Drinks in the bar area were good, food was average and over priced . Breakfast buffet had good selection but most of the hot food was cold although you could get a made to order omelette which was nice. We would not stay here again because of the beds , took my back a few days to recover !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

disappointing

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Delivery trucks showed up at 4:30am and started making very loud noises getting their delivery into the hotel. Due to the old building, there is no insulation so this is a very loud process, or was from my room's location (#245). The bathroom had 8 plastic cups stacked on a shelf and two boxes of tissue which looked to be thrown on the toilet. These were the toiletries/extras in the bathroom. Very random. Not a huge deal except I paid $150/night. Two last things: coffee maker in room had no creamer/sugars. Kind of annoying at 5am. And lastly, there was a long hair that was stuck to my bathroom wall. Not so good again for the price paid for the room. I expected an old room, and that's okay. The other stuff just left me disappointed. I played the golf course years ago and it is fabulous. Too bad I can't say the same for the accommodations.
4 out of 5
by Jeff from Greensboro

CGA golf tourney stay

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed pool table snd ping pong after dinner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

She's feeling her age...

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Was suppose to have a king bed.... Got a dbl... Had to change rooms cause the AC couldn't cool the room... Staff got me a better room with s king bed....Much better Pro shop not the friendliest....
4 out of 5
by Gregory from Crown Point, IN

Nice hotel if golf is your priority

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Cozy old hotel in a beautiful setting. Hotel definitely needs some freshening, but hotel staff very friendly. Convenient access to golf course and nearby villages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Full of history and charm

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: We loved the rich history, the charm and character of the hotel. The golf course is beautiful and we'd love to play it again!
Cons: See above in "experience"
Location: Central to other amazing golf courses and near "new" and old restaurants and shoppes.
This hotel is full of history and charm. It says they recently underwent renovations but I can't figure out where. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated all the old charm and history of the hotel. The stairs need a good vacuuming since the holiday greenery is still on the carpet (its May), the bathroom toilet was dirty and the room had a humid-damp smell. The "bellman" was not a gentlemen (or bellman for that matter) and did not help me with my 5 bags, he stood and watched me in the lobby doorway and again the next morning as I struggled to carry everything! We would stay again because it was a charming environment but there are some things that can be improved.