Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very warm and inviting but needs some TLC and updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south Georgia

No way this is 3.5 Stars!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: The fact that they let me out of the second night I had booked..
Cons: In my opinion, they need to level these cottages and start anew. Bad need of renovation!
Location: The location in Pinehurst is the only redeeming quality of this property. To me they are maximizing their profitability based solely on their location
We arrived in the dark and not asked if we had trouble finding them, how was our trip, glad your here..nothing. They have a series of buildings and we were offered a map vs. valet or bellman. Then the room. Wow! they are small, old. It is NOT quaint - just outdated. The room was poorly lit as was the parking lot. There was a musty smell. There was a box TV. As I said it was late, we decided to live with it for one night and cancel the second night. Then I stepped on the floor near the right-side of the bed and my socks were soaked. The small refrigerator, sitting directly on the carpet apparently was leaking(or so I thought). Then I felt wet on the bottom of the bedspread(not touching the floor) Now we knew the source of the musty smell. So at 10:30 we moved to another room in a neighboring building. the bathrooms are tiny with a pedestal sink and a 4 inch by one yard ledge to do what you need to in the bathroom. The shower curtain brushes the side of the toilet when closed. We will never be back and this has made us suspect of Expedia's ratings as well as Trip Advisors. The only think folks can like about this place is the location if you are a golfer.. "C'mon Man"....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Perfect getaway.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
We have been to Pine Needles a number of times already and we love it. We were surprised at the lack of maintenance and upkeep in the rooms but I am sure things will improve. We didn't have a working TV and our air was not working well. When I checked out, a guest was complaining about a few other maintenance items in his room. Don't let it slip please! It's an amazing place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming lodge

Posted Nov 29, 2015
We spent Thanksgiving weekend and felt the overall experience was great. We loved the charm of the Inn/ Lodge. The rooms are unique and more like staying in a guest room of a friend. We were in the bogie building and although it was decorated super cute it did have that old dank smell. We will happily come back to Southern Pines and stay at the Pinetree Inn. ( we are not golfers, but loved the vibe) One more note; every staff member we encountered was super friendly and added to our overall experience. Southern hospitality A+
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morehead City, NC

Golf get away

Posted Jul 5, 2015
We spent our 39th anniversary and wanted to have a nice dinner and play some golf. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Dinner was ok but we felt it was over priced for what we received.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A.

Beautiful hotel with significant history in golf.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
We felt taken care off with everyone we interacted with. The staff was curtious, professional, accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Cute hotel but uncomfortable beds

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Beds are rock hard but I really loved the vibe. The lodge was really cute. Food was okay.... Overall I'd rate the experience about 6.5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales, UK

Great for golfers and families of golfers!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Hotel was excellent. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Golf facilities were brilliant. Pool was great. Games room was just right for when not playing golf. Food was faultless. Thanks Pineneedles!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dixie from sc

Very homey lodge type hotel on a golf course

Posted May 4, 2014
Although I am not a golfer, I enjoyed my 3 night stay at this hotel very much. I chose this property because of its proximity to friends I was visiting. The staff was wonderful- very accommodating and friendly. I will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Joan from NY

Golf Course was beautiful

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Proximity to town, golf course and the grounds.
Cons: The entire inside.
Location: Close to town.
This hotel should be closed and renovated - they have spent very little money on the "creature comforts".