Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DIRTY, FILTHY, NASTY

Posted Aug 11, 2017
I had an awful experience at Candlewood in Southfield. We booked out stay for the Junior Olympics and were staying at the hotel for a week. Upon arrival to our room there was an awful stench! When we looked at the room we also noticed it was extremely unclean! I took this issue to the young man at the front desk and he didn't not seem very apologetic and sort of brushed us off. He asked if we would be willing to stay in the room for one night and they would move is first thing. I agreed because at this point we had driven nearly 8 hours and was extremely tired. He told me the manager would be in the next day and would get us moved. The next day, I spoke with a woman at the front. She had no idea of what had happened yesterday (the attendant said he would leave a note) and that the manager doesn't come in until Monday. So I explained to her that the room stunk and was filthy. She was the ONLY please part about my stay!! She was very understanding and I feel that she actually cared about the condition of our room. She did some research and found on that they had an extended stay guest in the room prior to our arrival and also worked with their GM to get my money refunded and even offered to help me find somewhere else to stay. Of course, I was very stressed out because 97% of hotels were booked because the Jr. Olympics are huge. Thankfully, we were able to get a hotel elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southfield Mi

The rooms stink and I couldnt get a refund

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The rooms stink and I couldnt get my room switched or a refund. I had to check out and switch hotels without any compensation
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

Business trip

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Welcoming accomodating and spacious for a business trip
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
I missed my flight.
3 out of 5
by Janet

Very GREAT staff, rooms need much work.

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
The service was outstanding! The front desk staff made it feel like home. They welcomed you each time you walked in the door. They got to know you and they tried to help you as much as possible. If it wasn't for the front desk staff I probably would NOT be back. The biggest problem I had was the room itself. The room was poorly maintained and not clean. I got there and went to use the restroom and the toilet paper holder fell completely off. Then I went to throw tissue away in the bathroom, and the garbage from the previous resident was still in the waste basket. I went to request a wake up call and neither one of my phones in my room worked. After showering I put my towel on the towel rack and that fell off the wall. The dishwasher did not work...and the day I left the handle fell off the nightstand. I did mention this to the front desk and that day my diswasher, toilet paper holder and the towel holder was fixed, however the repairman left chunks of wall on my bathroom floor that got into my feet when I exited the shower.... One last comment, I was in the room next to the front desk and the office door kept slamming each time I tried to sleep...along with the conversations in the hall. If you do stay there, stay on the third floor or away from the office. The walls are VERY thin and you can hear everything...
5 out of 5
by Azure

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

clean, updated

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: the rooms were clean and updated, even though you could tell cheap materials they were intact and clean
Cons: It smelled like weed smoke, and we kept hearing loud noises. Someone to monitor the facility and if you're placing guest near generators or areas
comfortable bed, room clean and updated, the bathroom was also clean. There were loud noises near the room we rented sound like a facilities issue, the front desk should have told us that the available room was near…. e.g. a generator or wash room. Also there was weed smoke smell in the hallways, they need someone to secure the areas and evict customers who go against the policy. We only stayed one night because of the power outage but overall it was a good over night stay.
5 out of 5
by Tonishia

Candlewood to the rescue

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was just what I needed after losing power the room was clean and neat and the bed was very comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels