Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Close to the theatre and shopping area.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
On our latest stay there we were pleasantly surprised by fresh room decor. Staff polite and accomodating to our request for a particular room. Continental and English breakfast plentiful. For the above reasons we are coming back to this hotel every time we are in Southport. Would definitely recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Visiting friends

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The lady serving breakfasts was very nice and helpful.
Cons: More white paint and light coloured furnishing too much brown
Location: Handy location you can walk into Southport
My stay at this hotel was disappointing the hotel is a old building like a lot of the hotels in Southport but is very drab the lady was very nice when checking in but the hotel was very disappointing. at the top of the stairs when approaching my room there was a settee with a throw over it it was very dirty. the room was awful a single person travelling alone and the bedroom i was given had two double beds both with horrid brown throws over and two big furry brown cushion on each bed. The bathroom window had a full crack across the window. The room was so disappointing. Breakfast was fine and the lady serving was very pleasant. I suppose you get what you pay for but I would never choose to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Don't raise your expectations and enjoy.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Needs investment, very tired looking rooms and out dated. That said I enjoyed my stay when I turned a blind eye to it all. Would i return i think not, it has potential it just needs some tlc and definitely new bedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to beach great value and facilities tired

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Nice location Good outside apperence Easy to locate Friendly staff Old style room great budget room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old an you can tell it

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Room very dated in need of new beds carpets an paint We were running bit late for breakfast which was rubbish anyway and it was 10am breakfast was ment to be till half 10 but host was a grump when I asked for cooked food she only made us eggs would not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

All Good.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Five people, 2 rooms. All round good pleasant stopover. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, plenty to eat and drink. Only downside, pillow on bed was mega hard. Have stayed there twice before, will stay there again. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
by Helen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by graham

Great location

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Comfortable relaxing hotel

Posted May 20, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Convenient for southport, free parking and wifi, lovely hosts. As a single female it is a very safe environment.
Cons: Nothing ,leave well alone, if people don't like it they can go somewhere else and leave room for us that appreciate the ambience and quiet.
Location: Near southport ,information in each room on local facilities
I last stayed about 5 years ago. Owners still there,so welcoming and kind nothing is to much trouble. Comfortable room with all facilities including breakfast I love the coffee,absolute bargain. A lovely friendly relaxing place to stay,with parking. Thanks to everyone at balmoral lodge. Will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted May 19, 2017
Great character hotel, very quiet, good breakfast, friendly staff, good value for money