Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
This hotel feels as though it's aimed at older people but it is still a nice hotel. Good for 1 night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Prince of wails retirement home

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Booked for 3 nights as premier inn and Ramada plaza were full . Room was tidy but dated and old windows so could hear traffic on lord street from early morning.Corridors like something from The Shining with patched up walls ,peeling paintwork and heating pipes everywhere.We only stayed one night as my two sons never slept a wink and gave breakfast a miss and checked out .Britannia need to spend a bit of cash on renovating what could be a much better choice for guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchestrt

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Beds
Cons: Breakfast service, decor, efficiency, cleanliness, more thought for guests' comfort
Booked overnight for self, husband and 10 year old granddaughter in family room. First room given was only double. Told "someone" had forgotten to put single bed in, but wouldn't have accepted it anyway as too small. Changed to larger family room - why weren't we given this initially? Big but scruffy, old scratched furniture, stained walls, window frames peeling and grubby. Also directly over bar so very noisy until music stopped. Why put family room over bar? Breakfast service dreadful. No fresh tea/coffee, had to request tea cups, then milk, then sugar. Toast soggy and cold, heard many complaints. Juice so weak couldn't tell what flavour it was. Temperature in room and dining room particularly stifling. Beds comfortable and staff on reception pleasant but that wouldn't be enough to make us stay again. So disappointed as was meant to be lovely night away for the 3 of us. Needs huge overhaul.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location, size of building, there was a lift albeit the lift was very small.
Cons: Have the right car parking charges on expedia it is now £4 per night/day.
Nice building but could do with some internal painting and touch up in hallways. Double bed felt a bit small. Check in took longer than it should have done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Didn't stay due to poor standard. When I was refunded the cost which included parking. I was fined a week later by parking eye. The hotel is refusing to waver this cost
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huddersfield

Handy place to stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: I thought charging extra for parking was a bit steep, but only £4 per night..
Cons: ok
Location: Very well sited. Close to the shops and restaurants and cafes. Well sited for the flower show
We had a lower ground floor room. The room was large, enough good size bathroom, bit chilly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Dissapointing

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Didn't get the room that was reserved and no one came to help move room around for us leaving us to do it which I shouldn't be doing as I've a bad back that am medicated for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with roomy rooms, close to shops,restau

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Spacious,clean,comfortable,Helpful staff,
Cons: More flexible with checking in,and checking out,
Location: Close to the town centre and all the amenities,and close to the Train station,
Arived early about 11am,and told we could only book in at 3pm,would have been nice to get the room at the time we Arived,apart from that it was value for money,would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Central hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location, layout, price, breakfast, parking
Cons: Unsure
Location: Very close to everything, with some nice places to eat within a 5 minute walk
Excellent value in a period hotel, excellently located within a short walk of some nice places to eat. Friendly staff, spacious room, great breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby outdated and poor service

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We arrived late but had Orr told them. The people on reception were not very welcoming we paid an extortionate amount for the room -granted it was the. Ritual Open but the room we were given was like a cupboard the bathroom had mould the bed was smaller than a double and there weee stains on the walls the floor etc. We literally didnt want to take our shoes off. We asked for another room but the hotel was completely full due to the golf. We'd liked to have left. It we knew we'd find it difficult to get a room anywhere else. Would never go back.