Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

Shabby

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Situation right on Lord Street.
Cons: Front of house staff, bit scruffy, lacking in manners.
Location: Shopping and restaurants. Not far from the beach.
The receptionist gave us a room and when we went to it it was underground. Smelled damp, fusty and of cigarettes. We then got a room on the 1st floor. Slightly better but no window to look out of. Must say it was very clean. The beds were awful. Could feel all the springs. Had friends back for a drink in the bar. The staff were not good. More interested in talking to each other than serving. At one point one of them shouted rudely to another and it was embarrassing. I had to tell him to quieten down. Breakfast mainly came from tins. Not seen tinned fruit salad on a breakfast buffet before. On the plus side, we asked the chef for poached eggs and they came to us in double quick time and they were perfect. Could be a lovely hotel, but everything seemed to be done on the cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rushden

Centre of Southport

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Classic old hotel - yes it's a bit tired and dated but is s classic old building with some great features - high ceilings, stained glass windows and so on. Staff are excellent- we had a problem with a bed not being very comfortable and they immediately moved us and upgraded at the same time. Shower was brilliant There are extras which are a bit niggly like £2 for credit card £4 for parking only 20 mins free wifi and premium rate phone number for the hotel. Overall a good place - would recommend it as a place to stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We arrived late and tired. The bar man was helpful

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: faded gentility but bathroom could be cleaner.
Cons: Up dating internet information regarding car parking
Disappointed at the car parking charge as it was advertised as free. Everything closed 10.30
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
This hotel feels as though it's aimed at older people but it is still a nice hotel. Good for 1 night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Prince of wails retirement home

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Booked for 3 nights as premier inn and Ramada plaza were full . Room was tidy but dated and old windows so could hear traffic on lord street from early morning.Corridors like something from The Shining with patched up walls ,peeling paintwork and heating pipes everywhere.We only stayed one night as my two sons never slept a wink and gave breakfast a miss and checked out .Britannia need to spend a bit of cash on renovating what could be a much better choice for guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchestrt

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Beds
Cons: Breakfast service, decor, efficiency, cleanliness, more thought for guests' comfort
Booked overnight for self, husband and 10 year old granddaughter in family room. First room given was only double. Told "someone" had forgotten to put single bed in, but wouldn't have accepted it anyway as too small. Changed to larger family room - why weren't we given this initially? Big but scruffy, old scratched furniture, stained walls, window frames peeling and grubby. Also directly over bar so very noisy until music stopped. Why put family room over bar? Breakfast service dreadful. No fresh tea/coffee, had to request tea cups, then milk, then sugar. Toast soggy and cold, heard many complaints. Juice so weak couldn't tell what flavour it was. Temperature in room and dining room particularly stifling. Beds comfortable and staff on reception pleasant but that wouldn't be enough to make us stay again. So disappointed as was meant to be lovely night away for the 3 of us. Needs huge overhaul.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location, size of building, there was a lift albeit the lift was very small.
Cons: Have the right car parking charges on expedia it is now £4 per night/day.
Nice building but could do with some internal painting and touch up in hallways. Double bed felt a bit small. Check in took longer than it should have done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Didn't stay due to poor standard. When I was refunded the cost which included parking. I was fined a week later by parking eye. The hotel is refusing to waver this cost
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huddersfield

Handy place to stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: I thought charging extra for parking was a bit steep, but only £4 per night..
Cons: ok
Location: Very well sited. Close to the shops and restaurants and cafes. Well sited for the flower show
We had a lower ground floor room. The room was large, enough good size bathroom, bit chilly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Dissapointing

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Didn't get the room that was reserved and no one came to help move room around for us leaving us to do it which I shouldn't be doing as I've a bad back that am medicated for.