Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Terrible stay due to excessive loud music

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Went for a quiet family trip and was kept awake until after midnight by noisy disco in the hotel. The base levels were so high we could hear it on the 4th floor. Totally ruined our Christmas stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st.helens

Night away

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Great location all you need only thing there was 3 of us in but was still catered for 2 . 2 cups 2 sets of towels ..noisy from pub over the road till late .but would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly efficient staff. The rooms are comfy

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Everthing
Cons: Keep up the good job you are doing
Location: Very central
The car park is under the hotel . Reception check your booking prior to your stay so you can add any extras. All the staff where friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfy and clean with everything you need. Breakfast was very good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good Hotel a shame about the breakfast

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Rooms, bathrooms and location.
Cons: Food
Location: Great golf courses. Only about a 5 minute walk to the restaurants and bars of Southport.
I just had a one night stay with a Client on a business trip. Booked on a room only basis and the room and facilities were fine. However, we decided to have breakfast at £12.50 each and wished we hadn't. There were no fired eggs on the buffet so I asked for some to be brought out. They did so promptly but when I went to eat the breakfast they were cold. I then decided I would have a croissant but this was stale. I was asked by the waitress and the reception whether I was happy with my stay. When I mentioned the breakfast I barely got an apology. My advice, by all means stay here but eat elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral UK

CONVENIENT, COMFORTABLE, BUT CONFUSING ACCOUNTING

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: position, general ambience, comfortable room, restaurant, good views
Cons: Accounting and billing procedures - see above
Location: Directly overlooking the Marine Lake but still only 5 minutes from Lord Street shopping.
Having booked on a room-only basis, at check-in I was offered a DBB package for an additional charge. Implementing this arrangement caused considerable confusion between the restaurant and bar staffs and the front desk so that the final billing was unclear and inaccurate. The subsequent adjustments failed to relate back to the DBB deal so both the receptionist and I were never clear as to just what discount had actually been applied to the dinner charge. However, at time of writing it does appear that the remaining discrepancies are operating marginally in my favour, so I put this down to management malfunction rather than deliberate malpractice. The hotel itself is pleasant, comfortable and well located. The restaurant food is generally good although the service is slow. The buffet breakfast is no better than average for this type of hotel. The front desk staff are friendly and personable but, as seen from the above, not entirely on top of the accounting procedures. Nevertheless ,this being my fourth stay, I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leek

Nice hotel close to all local amenities

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Clean,pleasant helpful staff,ideal location
Lovely relaxed stay in a well run,clean ideal location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Great hotel, conveniently located near to the many golf courses in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Pleasant stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Ebookers
Pleasant enough stay, we booked a suite which was adequate but didn’t reflect the price paid. Room was very clean and lovely comfy bed, but furniture in need of updating and better amenities. Staff on reception very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by V P

Lovely place to stay with some great views.

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely one night break here in a nice room with a comfy bed. Have stayed before usually in the suite rooms which was spacious and restful. Love this hotel the lounge is relaxing and the dinning room and food is great.
5 out of 5
by Steve

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel local to everything