Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nice hotel, not the greatest condition, couldn't expect more as its a very old building. Great staff, very helpful and kind. Three bars on their site, I didn't used them as I was with the baby. On the evening it was getting a bit loud and it wasn't very convenient for us as the room door are not soundproofed so if you think of having an early night there ask for a room away from the lift. We also enjoyed the swimming pool a lot, not very busy so we generally had it to ourselves. Nice warm water and Jacuzzi on the side. Lots of places to go to in Southport as well. Hotel is in great location, most of places of interest are within walking distance. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

The smallest room in the world and no secure park

Posted Oct 30, 2017
When I booked this room in such a exclusive hotel I was expecting a room with a view and a room that me and my miss would be comfortable in we had to climb onto the bed to get into the room as the bed was in front of the door all so it said free parking on the site it doesn’t tell you that there are only a few parking spaces and it’s first come first served the correct information when your booking would be nice so you can plan a head I won’t be using this hotel ever again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Don't bother

Posted Oct 15, 2017
car parking terrible, 2 cars parked by staff so you can't park, had to send wife in to get directions, drive between hotels and up steep ramp, so getting cases down it and up it even worse !. You have to pay to swim £4 each per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north wales

Location and cost

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Centre location reasonable cost. Little tired in public rooms. Breakfast 7/10 coffee 11/10. Staff very helpful. No leisure facilities or entertainment Would use hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was near to the local shop i was visiting

Posted Sep 29, 2017
I book the hotel through your company b+b paid for breakfast did not get any was told your company had made it room only i tried to complain but not heard from you we had to go outside hotel how embarrassing even when we showed our booking they still would not give us breakfast am decided not to book with company again Denise Williams
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke On Trent

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Swimming pool was open 8.30 until 2.30pm - check in at 3pm was closed by the time we could check in. The pool was advertised but didn't say at an additional charge. The hotel was good but is looking old and could do with some TLC. Enjoyed the stay and in a really good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Nice hotel, close to the shops.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We went for one night, was disappointed with the parking facilities took ages to find a space. Could only book into our room at 3, so felt most of the day was wasted. The room was nice and big but the tea and coffee available in the room is cheap products, so if there's a next time will take my own. Also we was on the 4th floor and the noice at night was really loud up till 4 in the morning. So not much sleep. All in all its a nice hotel for one night and the staff and breakfast are fab but for the price we paid it seems very expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

clean and tidy room

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: close to the centre
Cons: food and bar prices
Location: location great, and plenty of things to do nearby
food not very good and bar prices differ to much. three bars next to each other all with different prices was most complaints that other people was complaining about, and not enough room in dining room .some people had to sit outside for meals.
1 out of 5
by Andrew

Do not book

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely disgusting hotel one of the worst hotels ever
1 out of 5
by Chloe

Awful place

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
No minis provided except tiny little soaps and a shampoo and body wash attached to be shower wall which smelt like medicine and therefore my partner and I had no toothpaste and smelt vile. The bed was rock hard aswell as the pillows provided and therefore I ended up sleeping with the decorative cushions which is disgusting as god knows when they were last washed. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night without any care from the staff who did not bother to check whether their customers were ok, and then there was no hot water the following morning which was never addressed by the staff. For £74 this hotel is shocking, completely let my partner and I down who wanted a lovely night after working so hard.