Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north west

Good value, comfortable and clean

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean, bed comfortable
Cons: The hall way and stairs smelled of dogs
Location: Near Southse beach
Good location near our daughters university house. friendly welcome, nice clean room , lots of tea, coffee and buscuits. Well equipped with iron, hairdryer etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Guesthouse near seashore

Posted Sep 3, 2017
We had a very nice stay at Abbey Lodge guesthouse in Portsmouth. It's close to restaurants, shops and the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Overpriced

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Location: Location was very central.
We booked this guest house for the Victorious Festival. It was very overpriced for the level of accommodation. However it was one of the cheapest in the area for that long weekend. When we booked 8 months in advance, we also had to pay in full up front. We wanted to check in at 12 or leave our luggage until check in was available but this was out of the question. We were told Expedia specifically says check in is not until 4.00pm and they could not hold luggage. The accommodation is clean and basic but very outdated. I did not feel very well treated as a paying customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location clean room

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Stayed here for two nights, clean room with everything you needed comfy beds. Check in was easy no friendly. We had shared facilities no problems.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Met expectations

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: competitively priced, host was helpful
Host very helpful in telling us about the area. Reasonably priced and accommodations as described. We were able to find parking relatively near, but could be a problem, and I understand this is typical for the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancs

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: nothingbooking in times
if you are not checked in by 9-oo you lose your room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead

Service with smiles.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The location was good for both Southsea and Portsmouth.
Cons: If I wanted to be picky I would say the towels could have been softer.
Location: Loads to do in Portsmouth for all age groups.
Nice B and B with welcoming, friendly and informative staff. Easy check-in and check-out. Good location to Southsea and Portsmouth and both walking distance. Had double en-suite rooms, clean, brilliant white bedding, comfy bed and pillows. TV was crisp and clear with plenty of channels. Tea and coffee making facilities complete with biscuits, hair dryer all lovely touches. We were lucky and found a parking space just around the corner, left car there and walked to Portsmouth along the sea front.
4 out of 5
by Abigail

Lovely.

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
I personally liked my stay here. The staff are lovely! The room was well kept and have loads of little extras- iron and an iron board, shower gel, hot chocolate, towels etc. There's a sink in the room also, which is handy. The only thing that bothered me a little was the shower, it's walk in so bring slippers! You get given a disposable shower mat for a reason. But a part from that I would happily stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Good location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay . Room comfortable but could do with a lick of paint and the ensuite needed updating.
1 out of 5
by Ethan

Worst experience ever!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
After my travel plans changed, I booked a room at Abbey Lodge on the same day I was scheduled to arrive in Portsmouth. Only after receiving the confirmation email, was I told that check in time ends abruptly at 9 pm. Since I wouldn't arrive until 10, I immediately contacted the staff and was more or less told "tough luck. There's nothing we can do." They blamed the whole instance on Hotels.com and then refused to refund my money after Hotels.com contacted them. So I ended up paying for a room without even being able to check in. Throughout the entire ordeal, the staff was extremely unhelpful, inflexible, and unfriendly. I have never had such a terrible customer service experience and would never recommend this place to anyone.