Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead

Service with smiles.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The location was good for both Southsea and Portsmouth.
Cons: If I wanted to be picky I would say the towels could have been softer.
Location: Loads to do in Portsmouth for all age groups.
Nice B and B with welcoming, friendly and informative staff. Easy check-in and check-out. Good location to Southsea and Portsmouth and both walking distance. Had double en-suite rooms, clean, brilliant white bedding, comfy bed and pillows. TV was crisp and clear with plenty of channels. Tea and coffee making facilities complete with biscuits, hair dryer all lovely touches. We were lucky and found a parking space just around the corner, left car there and walked to Portsmouth along the sea front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Good location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay . Room comfortable but could do with a lick of paint and the ensuite needed updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheerful place with character

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Cheerful, character, interesting for a foreigner to see the inside of this typical kind of house
Cons: Parking?
Location: Henry VIII castle - free and interesting, pavilion and jetty, Mary Rose, Victory, historic Portsea Dockyard. D-Day landing museum if not shut
A bit of a struggle up the stairs with suitcases, but we had an ensuite attic room that was charming, clean and bright. It is a short walk to the beach and castle and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Parking in the streets can be a bit challenging, but we managed OK. Very helpful host with good advice and maps. We stayed here to visit the Mary Rose, Victory etc and it worked out well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parking a nightmare

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Clean with pleasant staff
Cons: No they seem to maximise what they have
Location: Few minutes from the beach and main shopping/eating street. Very central
Very nice quaint b n b, lots a character, thought the share toilet/shower would be an issue but never coincided with anyone. Finding parking can be challenging, once found it pays to leave the car and use taxis as they are really cheap, saying that, taxis can be very hit n miss after you phone 1, blatantly telling you untruths when you can is late
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be better

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Could do with updating the room's and showers and would of nice to be informed about the dog in the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nice place - very friendly staff

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Good rates, clean and welcoming
Cons: Parking was the only problem
Location: Portsmouth - LOADS of things to do nearby
Only problem was the parking - we arrived after 8pm and had to park the car about 10 minutes away from Abbey Lodge. If you aren't stuck with a car, you won't have any problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Nice hotel perfect location for a visit

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Check in staff very friendly
Cons: Shower was too small
Location: Close to the seaside and walking distance to the pubs and restaurants
Can't fault it, it did exactly what I needed it to, will stay again
1 out of 5
by Beytullah

B.Oktay

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good locaition but too noisy from landlord's dogs. Also zero understanding, they stand by you for check out on exactly on time. It could have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Cosy Single Room, Nice comfortable Mattress.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Its Quirky, Excellent Mattress, TV in room, Very Clean and Warm
Cons: Maybe abit modernised but its got Character as it is.
Location: Central to Southsea's Student Drag. Short walk to the Seafront.
Nice Room, Quirky, Clean, Comfortable. Close to Southsea's Bars and Shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comfy bed, good size room, good shower, excellent breakfast. Exceeded expectations.