Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Great hotel overlooking the sea

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Very large rooms
Cons: Carpark and bar staff need to be more friendly
Location: Historical dockyard
Visiting the Dockyard so hotel was very convenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel room very good, breakfast really good choice. Only issue was the dining room was overflowing on Sunday morning. Had to wait for table and then wait for it to be cleared. Car parking was very tight and twice we had to pay to park on roads. Very difficult to find roadside spaces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Nice hotel opposite pier

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Room large very comfortable. Even had 3 pillows each on the very large double bed. Good large fluffy towels and well stocked tea and coffee tray in room. Common areas a bit dated and tired but room made up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seward, AK

Lovely, historic hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We were greeted warmly by knowledgeable staff and found our ocean view room clean, comfortable and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect location for us...

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Hotel was in the perfect location.. On the beach.. near the best fish and chips restaurant and wiith a bus to gunwharf quay right outside the door. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was far too warm and decor is a little tired and old. But it was clean and bed was comfy. At least the rooms were double glazed so you couldn't here the road and could enjoy the view of the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The hotel is a bit old but very nice, right on the sea front. Parking is a bit tight but otherwise it's a lovely hotel & I would definitely stay there again. It's also idealy located for the ferries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Historic Beachfront

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Rooms were nice, lobby pleasant and old-fashioned
Location: Beach and pier across the street, model village and park next door. Not much else going on.
This is a Victorian-era hotel that's been fixed up by Best Western. It still has some of the old-world charm, but the rooms in particular are up to modern standards. I saw a mostly older clientele, which seemed appropriate. The beach and pier are literally right across the road, and the model village just a few minutes away. Not much in the area for restaurants and shops, other than the pier. It's about 10 minutes by car (20 by bus) from the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Staff very helpful and polite. Had nice large room with sea view and giant bed. Very comfortable. Bathroom decor bit dated but everything worked. A typical Victorian hotel which may need a little more modernisation but charming nontheless.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Nice hotel, food average.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: convenient
Cons: PARKING, food could have been better.
Location: N/A
After a long tiresome drive to Southsea, we were disappointed to find we had nowhere to park and were informed that the street parking was out of the question. We also booked through Expedia two rooms with breakfast for three adults, however we were informed that no breakfast was booked through Expedia and we would have to pay extra, luckily we had taken our lap-top with us and produced the booking proof. The staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Superb location Great staff Great value Dog friendly