Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, Virginia

Cozy, warm hotel w/view of water. Great location!

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Charming old-style hotel. Very warm and cozy. Two parlours with gas fireplaces and pub within. Immaculate. Free parking. Amazingly-generous breakfast included... we chose from ample menu choices the English breakfast: sausage, delicious bacon, egg, mushrooms, fried bread, toast, butter & jam. Whole pot of coffee on the table and great service. But...also self service breakfast as well: fresh mixed cut up fruit, grape fruit, prunes, OJ, cereals, yogurt, etc. Bright airy room with water view (#26) is small, but lacked nothing. High quality fixtures & furnishings. Very nice bed linens, wonderful mattress, ensuite bathroom with shower, soap, lotion, shampoo & conditioner. Hair dryer. Very nicely upgraded...very well done on a building 150 years old! Would definitely recommend & return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

A trip down memeoey lane......

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Portsmouth was our penultimate stop in the UK before travelling back to the States. The room was comfortable, the view was awesome (we had a sea view) and the staff were friendly and polite. A definite thumbs-up from us. We would stay there again. The ONLY criticism would be the shower; it was a very slippery shower floor. I was scared to move too much for fear of slipping and falling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Location great .. staff very polite and helpful. A warm welcome when checking in. Would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed in the suite fantastic for a family or friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient location.....short stroll to local bus

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Location...... gluten free breakfast was available on request..... cosy bar for a nightcap.
Cons: Everything was perfectly ok
Location: Sea view, bus ride or pleasant walk along the coast to Portsmouth harbour...Spinnaker tower, Naval dockyard and Gunwharf Quays all within easy reach.
Vefy pleasant weekend break celebrating birthday....visiting local attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Wonderful visit in historic area

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: View, breakfasts, location, staff, room.
Cons: More space for large suitcases
Location: Very close to the water, within walking distance to various places to eat, the historic dockyards, and shopping.
We were a short walk away from the water. Weather was wonderful, so we had a pleasant 30 minute walk to the historic dockyards. The room was very comfortable with many amenities, free internet, wonderful view of the water. It was very clean, the bathroom very nice. The breakfasts were excellent, the staff delightful. We would stay there again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Perfect location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Beautifully presented hotel with friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Location is perfect with lovely views across the park and seafront. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room carpet was grubby and beds were terrible..

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Staff really nice
Cons: More comfortable beds, new carpets, better cleaning, more attention to poor maintenance.
Location: Great location with lots to do and see.
The hotel is far more scruffy than the website presents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel close to seafront.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Position and helpful, friendly staff
Cons: Our double room was very snug, but for one night it was fine.
Location: The location was perfect - a couple of minutes walk to the Esplanade, Southsea Pier, and Southsea Castle. HMS Victory and Historic Dockyard is a must.
Very friendly and helpful staff. We were able to park for free directly outside the hotel. Pleasant compact room at the back of the hotel, which was clean and well equipped and very quiet. I was amazed to see the dining room so full at breakfast time, because I thought it was so quiet that the hotel must have been almost empty! Delicious breakfast - good quality sausages and bacon. Would definitely stay at The Seacrest again when visiting Portsmouth.
5 out of 5
by Craig

Comfort and service in Southsea

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable, excellent breakfast and service, bus to harbour about 5 min walk around corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Although quite expensive, very nice with very good breakfast. Helpful staff