Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: convenience
Cons: A competent staff and a manager who gives a dam. And that doesn't seem to bother even Lori the General Manager. Very poor rooms and a staff that doesm
It took 4 room searches to find a room where everything worked properly. The last 2 times I stayed here it was the same way. I will not stay here ever again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but well kept

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Strange internet with ads and slow. Thin bedding covers on cold nights. If you turn on the room heat the room fire alarm goes off
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Lori Gantz-Shelton, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving your review for our hotel. I am sorry about the Internet issue having ads on it. This was reported to us and it since has been removed. The Internet provider we use did not have permission to run these ads and now are removed. The issue with turning the heat on is that the units being off all summer and just running the air conditioner, when you cut the heat on and the elements start to heat up, they may have a little dust on them from not being used which would put off some what of a burning smell which sets off the Smoke Alarm. I certainly do apologize about that issue. We are looking into how we can remedy that issue before the seasons start to change. I hope that you will return to us again in the future. Again, thank you for leaving your review. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

very clean but smells of smoke

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: clean and quiet, nice breakfast, very helpful staff.
Cons: Stop people from smoking in the hotel especially the employees.
Location: Ideally located on Midlothian Turnpike, handy to everything.
This Hotel has signs all over that says," smoke free hotel." The entire hotel smells of smoke from the front door all the way through. Our room very quiet, comfortable, and clean, but smelled of smoke! Of course it was advertised at $85 per night, but as usual by the time you pay all of the fees it added up to $97 per night. The breakfast is outstanding, Well run and lots of food. It's a nice hotel but it's not for non smokers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Lori Gantz-Shelton, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I apologize that you smelled smoke when you were at our hotel. We are a non smoking hotel and we do have a Non Smoking Policy in place for anyone that violates this policy. We charged a healthy fee for smoking. We take every measure to deodorize the hotel and rooms if someone has violated our policy. I am sorry to hear that you smelled smoke while staying with us. We do have designated areas on the property for guests and employees to smoke. Again, my apologies for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Staff was great from start to finish, facility is a one of a kind very we sound proofed rooms and very good breakfast. I was very pleased as was my wife which is what matters the most!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Lori Gantz-Shelton, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review for our hotel. We value your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will return again in the future. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Nothing extraordinary, but a good comfortable hotel. My family and I were very pleased
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Lori Gantz-Shelton, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review for our hotel. We value your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will return again in the future. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florence, SC

Convenient to all

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Off the road, hidden to the back hard to find if not paying attention but it's my place to stay when visiting Richmond. Friendly staff, clean rooms and good breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Lori Gantz-Shelton, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review for our hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning in the future. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I was in town overnight for business. I could have walked to my location if necessary. It was a little difficult recognizing the entry point of the drive because the hotel sits off the road and there is not a very prominent sign marking the entrance. Other than that, the staff was very friendly the room was super clean, the bed was amazingly comfy and it was a quiet spot in the midst of a busy thoroughfare. I will definitely stay again if I am back in town for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Lori Gantz-Shelton, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for leaving your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Virginia hospitality

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Location: Many restaurants and stores nearby. It does take around 20 minutes to drive to the downtown area.
Large, comfortable room and very friendly, helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Lori Gantz-Shelton, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for leaving your review for our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come see us again. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Pam

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for taking the time out to leave us your review. We greatly appreciate it. We hope that you will return to visit us again in the future. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First class

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Everybody very helpful especially on the reception , very good breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for taking the time out to leave your review for our hotel. It is very much appreciated. We hope that you will return to see us again in the future. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager