Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red River NM

Fun place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Fun,quirky place. Love the lay out and courtyards, room super clean and comfortable except for a heating issue. Breakfast included,however, is a misrepresentation of what is provided. Coffe,juice and some very sub par breakfast rolls was all they served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Place!

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Super big room with plenty of room, even got upgraded when we got here for free! The staff is very nice and made this stop on a long road trip amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Great place to stay.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Lovely room. Frat bed. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: The staff and coziness.
Cons: Better wifi, outlets, and lighting.
Location: Close to downtown Santa Fe.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were cozy/rustic. The bed was comfortable. Our room was set far enough back from the road that we did not notice much road noise. The breakfast was a little underwhelming with only pastries and coffee/tea, though the buns were excellent. When we first checked in, the first room they put us in had no wifi (router was not working) so they upgraded us to another room that had wifi. The wifi in that room still was not very good so I ended up tethering my tablet to my phone instead. Some of the outlets in the room were so worn that they would not hold the plugs for charging my electronic devices. The room could have also used better lighting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Suggest having mini microwave in all rooms. Also the heat system is a bit antiquated but works ok.
4 out of 5
by Faith

Love the El Rey!

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Love the El Rey... it is quiet, comfy and charming. Excellent customer service. Their breakfast room was being renovated so, not the usual fare but quite good, none-the-less. Nice beds. Great parking and access for Santa Fe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
We love this hotel. We have stayed two times before. Our kids love the pkayground pool and courtyard. My only issue is there are not many electrical outlets in the room. None near the night stand. This day in age everyone has a cell phone they like to keep nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Friendly and welcoming staff; simple, clean and comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Charm is fading

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Love the el Rey charm. Unfortunately the care of front desk staff isn’t what we used to feel since it has been taken over by new management. Additionally the breakfast room is no longer and has been under construction for way too long. It has gone from on site breakfast to vouchers for the pantry to stale pastries and weak coffee in a sparsely decorated lobby area. This is a big disappointment influencing our choice of whether to continue staying after over 5 years of loyal business.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El Rey Stay

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Hotels
The motel was fine, check-in friendly and helpful. The only not-so-good thing was the continental breakfast, due to remodeling the dining area was closed and the pastries were on the dry side