Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

Could be a nice hotel. It was clean but stripped

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything
Location: Do not know we left first thing in the morning
Room was clean but was stripped of any amenities. 2 washcloths for 4 people. 1 small shampoo for 4 people. No wastebasket in room. Nothing at all in the extended stay kitchen. Desk clerk was not the most congenial person. I did not like the check in procedure. Am used to paying on check out and not leaving $100 cash deposit. When I left the desk person had to clean out her cash drawer to give me back my deposit in one dollar bills and some 20 and 10's and a roll of quarters. I have stayed in extended stay hotels before and they were very nice and clean and fully stocked in the kitchen and bath linens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for showing your loyalty towards our brand. We truly apologize for the less than expected stay you had and for the inconvenience you encountered while here. We take these reviews seriously as it will help us to improve our future guest’s experience. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, VA

NICE Getaway

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Room was clean, bed was comfortable and it was nice and quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Eric, thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We are pleased to read you had a pleasant stay and that your well-appointed room met your expectations. Thanks once more for allowing us to be of service, and we hope to have the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia beach

Big $$ for little bang

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Very unimpressed with our experience. We didn't even have a trashcan in the room. When we asked the front desk, they said, "we'll try to get someone down there. If we don't, can I just hand you a trash bag right now?" We took the bag and not surprisingly, can never came. The breakfast that was advertised turned out to be a basket of dehydrated muffins from the grocery store and coffee in a 10'x8' room (approximate). All in cost: $158. Wow!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Ben, please accept my sincerest apologies for the cleanliness and service issues you encountered while here. I have shared your concerns with my Housekeeping and front desk teams, and we have taken actions to ensure that we do not repeat these issues in the future. We are reviewing the situation as a training tool to improve our procedures and to ensure this does not happen again. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

More Money than Worth

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Small room with kitchenette and minimum requirements but not worth the mutely rate. Pillows were small and inadequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Charlie, thank you for your visit. Although you had an overall good stay, we are sorry that we missed meeting some of your expectations and regret the inconvenience caused. We will be sure to share your concerns with the management to see where we can make improvements. Please give us another chance to make a better impression on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Multiple problems, but well-meaning staff

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Management and front desk staff very apologetic about so many problems.
Cons: There must be management problems due to the sheer number and scope of issues I encountered.
Location: Location was quite convenient to 3 different highways.
Broken elevator, did not have any breakfast foods available on a Monday morning (someone forgot to order/get food restocked), could not find my reservation (even though I had receipt and confirmation), put me in a room that wasn't cleaned/stocked, kept assigning my room to other guests which meant I had several occasions where other people were given key cards that allowed them to enter my room (extremely scary)! My own card key would expire and lock me out of my room every single morning. Wi-Fi down in hotel for several days. Could not get a cab to come there to pick me up without trying 8 different cab companies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
It is very disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies as we never mean to disappoint any of our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be reviewing our guidelines to provide a better experience for every guest entering our doors. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to make it up to you on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The layout of the room was good.
The breakfast was a joke. There were extra coffee items in the room. It lacked the little extras to make it feel homelike. The tiles in the shower had black places in the grooves. The cabinet doors had screws in the doors to hold them together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
It is disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and we're truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond va

It was real simple

Posted Sep 20, 2017
It was very nice and easy . Just needed more tv channels and a guide but the room was perfect for the price I booked it for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for making Extended Stay America a part of your travel plans. We are glad to know your stay with us was good and that you were satisfied with all our offerings. I have taken a note of your observation. We hope to be your hotel of choice next time you are in this area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice inexpensive hotel for the area

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: I liked the location of the hotel. It was close to various amenities in the area to include shopping and restaurants.
Cons: The rooms could definitely stand a complete remodel to include new and more comfortable furnishings.
Location: The location of the hotel was perfect. I was across the street from an office building and shopping and restaurants were in close proximity.
The price of the hotel per night was rather reasonable for the area. I was shocked to see that the room I stayed in did not have any carpeting in the bedroom or lounge areas. I have stayed at different Extended Stays due to work assignments and this one by far was not the best. I was a little disappointed that this room did not have an oven so I could prepare meals during my stay and also due to the fact that the mattress on the bed was rock hard which in turn did not allow me to get a good nights rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being loyal towards our brand and for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that you liked our affordable rates and convenient location which was perfect for your needs. However, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations with your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your review will be discussed with the management team to make necessary corrections. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the excellent experience you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

I have never smelled a worse room

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The smell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: No.
I would never stay here again. Not even if THEY paid ME. The room smelled SO badly that I almost gagged. It was like a mixture of cat urine and mildew... disgusting. Nothing was comfortable about the room. Bed sucked, Bedding sucked. Cleanliness nonexistent. There's no ice machine. Staff doesn't like to answer the phone or questions in person. Never again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are disheartened to read your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. I will personally address these issues with the appropriate teams to ensure happy guests is our number one priority. I truly regret the inconvenience caused and please consider us again so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens New York

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Stayed one night left early next morning but stay was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America for your overnight stay and for sharing your wonderful comments. It is a pleasure to read you loved our hospitality and you had a good night‘s sleep. We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to seeing you soon. Sincerely, General Manager