Ratings based on 902 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston tx

THE MOST DISGUSTING ROACH MOTEL EVER

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: everything
The most atrocious, filthy hotel I've ever seen in my life!! When I booked with Expedia the photos were of the Extended Stay a block away. The photos look NOTHING like the inside of the rooms. I would've taken pictures but I ran out too fast! We arrived and went to check in. As I check in I looked around for the breakfast area. I asked front desk several times "where would breakfast be held" I didn't get a response. She pulled up our reservation and asked me to pay. ONCE I signed and paid for Room she processed to given me instructions. She said" since you're only staying two nights you want get your room cleaned. We clean rooms ONLY once a week, breakfast is served every morning. Breakfast includes muffins granola bars coffee and orange juice" I asked her online it stayed hot/cold breakfast included. What is hot about what you just described? The coffee?" She stated "yes". She then told me that if we needed extra towels we must bring back to the front desk each dirty towel in return for a clean towel. The breakfast was served right be us (which consists of a extremely small desk with a small cooler beside it to hold the orange juice and water) I went to the room to see the room. I walked in and it smelled like wet mold. Extremely filthy and outdated. The bathroom looked as if someone literally just walked out of it. The paint was pealing from the tub walls. The tub was wet. The toilet had a ring. The beds looked as if someone just got out!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. Cleanliness is a top priority to all of our employees, and we do not take these issues lightly. We will address this matter with our housekeeping team in order to ensure changes are made immediately to solve these problems. Although we treat regularly, to uphold our company's high standards, we have contacted our pest control provider to address the issue as quickly as possible. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We truly hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Walking distance to NRG Stadium and Center

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Its close to NRG stadium and center.
Cons: Needs a lot of renovation.
The staff was nice and helpful. The place is dated and needs a major renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay. Although our convenient location and attentive service were to your satisfaction, we are sorry that you were disappointed with the overall condition of our property. Your feedback is of utmost value to us, and we will be sure to share it with the future enhancement team as we plan any upgrades. We appreciate you letting us know and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Convenient to the medical center.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Housekeeping staff needs to be trained on how to clean and maintain the facilities!
Absolutely the worst housekeeping I have ever experienced. Very nice front desk staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Nancy, we certainly apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered which led to a disappointing stay as it is never our intention to lose focus on providing you with the hospitality you deserve. We will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team and will use it as a training tool to improve our performance. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another opportunity to make a better impression on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Nasty Roach motel!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The wet animal smell was overwhelming, we checked 5 empty rooms and all were the same. I had prepaid. I cleaned the windows and had brown residue on paper towels. Two roaches climbed out of tub drain when I turned on the water. I slept fully clothed and didn't bring any belongings in room. NEVER stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. You are absolutely correct to expect a clean, well-maintained property as your home away from home when traveling, and I apologize for failing to provide that for you. My staff and I are taking steps to ensure every detail from the first impression at check-in to the final at check-out and will focus on providing a better experience for every guest entering our doors. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to MD Anderson which is good because of the

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, quietness and beda are comfortable
Location: There are not many restaurants in the area for sit down dining. Olive Garden, Luby's, Denny's, that are familiar but there are many fast food places.
Breakfast is simple. Sweet rolls, toast, cereals, coffee, juices, milk. Continental Hotel staff are all very helpful, easy to talk to and concerned about pleasing the customer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Fannin St. It’s our pleasure knowing you loved our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast and the excellent service provided by our staff. We appreciate you being our guest and hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Excellent staff, but such an atrocious, filthy hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Although you liked some of the aspects of our hotel, we’re sorry for the cleanliness issue you experienced here and regret the inconvenience caused. Please be assured your feedback has been communicated to our housekeeping director who will be addressing this with his team. We hope to have another opportunity to make a better impression on your future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Ok hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Our shoes stuck to the floor...carpet needed cleaning...sheets appeared to be clean but had stains on them...never got any type of paper work from staff...crappy breakfast...staff was nice...parking was good...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Pam, we truly care about delivering clean and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests, and we are sorry for the issues you encountered. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate teams to correct our performance. We are working hard to deliver the type of hospitality that you should always expect from us, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance on your next trip to the area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

It is not clean at

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: Everything. Right now, I am at Day Inn for 15 days for the same price and they have everything. From cleanliness, breakfast, house keeping..
Location: Good location, though.
Bad, floors, bathroom, sink and so all were very dirty. Even the sheets and blanket. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. Unfortunately we missed something during this process, and for that we sincerely apologize. We are working with our Housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily checklists to make sure this isn't repeated. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a better experience on your next stay. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Filth and Grime

Posted Jun 3, 2017
My first restroom had pubic hair and urine one the seat. After moving me, I was placed in a room with dirty sheets and grime in the shower. I expected more from the Extended Stay brand. Never stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Alis, please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. Cleanliness is a top priority to all of our employees, and we do not take these issues lightly. I will personally address this matter with my housekeeping team in order to ensure changes are made immediately to solve these problems. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to make it up to you in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

Great Staff

Posted May 31, 2017
I had come into town for the U2 concert at NRG Stadium. The hotel was within walking distance which was nice; it was also right down the road from Rice Village so there was plenty to see and do. What really made me want to leave a review was the staff. They were absolutely wonderful and made what should have been a mundane experience a very pleasant one. They will bend over backwards for you to make sure your stay is a good one and I couldn't have been happier.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Scott, thank you for including Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Fannin St. in your travel plans. We are delighted to know our location was ideal for your needs and that our staff met and exceeded your expectations. I’ll be sure to share your compliments with them as it will make their day. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager