Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

loved it

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Cons: Just the description on Expedia - King beds in North America are considerably larger than the beds they have - could save on disappointment.
This is a magical place - up crazy winding roads that lead to a breathtaking vista and a welcoming inn. Rooms are new and modern, the pub is comfortable and cozy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nicely decorated, pleasant surroundings in stunning position overlooking the valley. Room small but adequate for our one night stay. Staff very helpful and courteous. Simple menu very well cooked and presented. An enjoyable short stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Hard to find only one small sign post hotel looked nice from outside was nice bar nice staff but room 8 the radiator was on all night and there is no way to turn it off so had windows open all night . The room needs some TLC as wallpaper on bathroom ceiling coming off along with bedroom wallpaper cleaning staff need re training as the tv screen was dirty the bathroom sink had still got something blue on it . Under the desk that holds the tv and tea coffee etc needs cleaning underneath they also need to fix the light shade where the two armchairs are as you walk in and make sure both wall lights in room 8 work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night Stay

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Interesting modern rom recently refurbished
Location: Spectacular view of the valley.
Stayed one night only made a good impression . . ,,
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by Nat, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time so post a review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hobbit by name!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
A nice hotel recently refurbished to a good standard the room was compact and the shower small but as I am it was not much of a problem. I had the curry for dinner and was not very impressed but other meals looked fine and breakfast was nice,would stay again if the price was right.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Hobbit Hotel - The Hidden Gem

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Visited for short stay in a more rural/town setting but near Manchester where we had to make a business trip. The hotel is in an amazing location high on the hill side with fantastic countryside views. The hotel was simply excellent, room was very comfortable, food was great, atmosphere was peaceful and pleasant and service was of a high standard. So impressed overall and will visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I have shared your thoughts with the staff, who all really appreciate hearing such positive comments. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and restaurant

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel had a lovely restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Convenient to family
Cons: everything was ok ,but nothing to make it stand out from the others in the area.
Picked this hotel because it was close to family. Stayed one night. Food ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review The New Hobbit. We appreciate all the feedback we receive and we hope that if you stay with us in the future we have an opportunity to stand out from the crowd a little more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milnrow

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
We stayed here with some friends celebrating our anniversary it was an ideal location to visit sowerby bridge with its numerous bars . The hotel was spotless,the staff were great and the full English breakfast was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Looks newly decorated, lovely evening meal and breakfast, fantastic water pressure, lovely staff.
Cons: Room was too warm so we had to leave the window open overnight
Location: Close to Halifax for Eureka