Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids MI

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The staff was courteous and helpful. They were very accomodating about fulfilling our request for a ground floor room. They had ammenities, hairdryer, small fridge, lots of storage space for our things.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moldy, musty smelly!!!#

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Front desk girl nice. Room with view overlooked big rigs and Lowes parking lot. Musty smelly holes in ceiling. Bathroom dirty. Can't recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Ramada

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Easy access to where I was going. Restaurant next door.
Cons: Clean the bathroom!
Location: Go birding! All kinds of great places to see birds, Merritt Island, Blue Heron, Diceranda Scrub, Fox Lake and more.
Room was fine, desk clerks were very nice and helpful. But the fingernail clippings from the previous room occupant were still on the counter in the bathroom and remained there for the 4 days of my stay. Ugh. I finally wrote a note to the housekeeper to please clean the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Kelli, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about the aspects of the housekeeping that needed to be addressed. I sincerely apologize and do hope that next year we will be hosting you during your birding trip because you were correct in saying the location is perfect for birding and sight seeing. Please contact me personally on your next trip and let me assure your next stay is pleasurable the entire stay. Thank You
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Every thing was perfect, excellent service and the breakfast in Denny is perfect, we really love this hotel, thanks for every thing
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Kelli, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive comments. I'am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just right around the corner. Thank You
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Room was damp & reeked of mildew. Bathrm was nasty
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by kelli, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review of the property,your feed back is extremely valuable to us. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many upgrades to the property. I hope that you will visit our property again and let us turn your experience into a positive one.I hope you found accommodations that were more suitable for you on the rest of your trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unclean at any price!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Nothing! We had to leave Florida that night at 1am for lack of a hotel. We never got to Kennedy Space Center. This hotel should lose their branding
Cons: I'll be taking that question up with Ramada corporate
Location: Kennedy Space Center, but we never got to go there. We had to leave florida that night and drive all night home for lack of a hotel.
Just needed a bed for a stay-over near Kennedy Space Center for the family. At first we noticed a smell, mold! We opened the window and that started to clear out. Then we looked in the bathroom... "OK lets leave our shoes on for the bathroom," we said. (Oh yeah and we didn't even consider a shower!) There was hair and nasty grime everywhere. Oh right, and leave the tooth brushes packed!! "What's in that bed?" you ask? So did we. ANSWER: more hair, and lint from someone's clothes... and wrinkles in the sheets because someone had slept in the bed. Get the picture? Housekeeping pulled the comforter straight, wrapped the TP roll to make that look new, emptied the trash (I'm surprised) and did nothing else! For some reason, at first, I still wanted to stay (it's 1am BTW) for a few hours' sleep and go to Kennedy in the morning. I just needed all new bedding. I walked all the way to the front (passed the run down pool) not once or twice but three times! to get new sheets for the bed! They kept giving me the wrong size sheets. Even for the first wrong size set, I had specified the size and they got it wrong. Well, the third return trip to the front was to check out at 1am! Unfortunately I had already paid thru Expedia so I couldn't even get my money back. I gave the clerk a rant only TV hotel consultants could be proud of, and asked that they not take payment from Expedia for my not staying there. luckily I called Expedia, they called the hotel (who corroborated) I got refunded 100%
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overpriced, clean

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: pricing
Location: near highways, gas stations, shopping centers, tourist attractions
room was nice and modern, clean. convenient location. saw a few roaches over several days but exterminator was sent. air in room was rather damp, even after running A/C on dry for a few hours. Overpriced, so that lowers rating. Expedia shows different rates including breakfast - do not pay for extra - this pricing should be removed. Breakfast voucher worth 3.50 is provided to all guests. However, breakfast is not free, you are expected to tip. only pancakes are available at no charge on 2-4-6-8 menu. Hotel lists free breakfast on its website also - this should be removed or modified.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Kelli, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your candid review of our property. your feedback is very valuable to us.Thank you for noticing we are upgrading our rooms and the location is perfect for those visiting the beaches or The Kennedy Space Center.It is a pleasure to announce we are upgrading the AC in our rooms and this will help with the humidity in our beautiful state. I do apologize for the confusion with your breakfast, the breakfast is free. You receive a pancake, a meat, a egg and a beverage or you may take the $4.50 value and upgrade if you would like. I am happy to announce we will be opening our breakfast room within the month and we will serve a full Continental style breakfast. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

The bed room i sleep in my life stink like wet Dog

Posted Jan 5, 2017
The hotel smell very bad like a wet dog like wet carpet si much humidity terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Kelli, Hotel Management
Jose, Thank you for posting a review, your feed back is valuable and allows us to continually improve. I would like to announce we are upgrading the AC units we use in the hotel unfortunately we cant change the humidity levels in the great state of Florida. We can make the upgrades needed to improve your next stay and we are listening and making the needed changes. Please stop in on your next visit and let us know what you think.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Ga./ Kobe Japan

Hotel close to Space Center

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Location and price. Excellent value for the money!
Cons: carpet in hallways showed considerable wear and bathroom in our room was dated and could use some modernizing but everything was clean and worked fine
Location: Close to Kennedy Space Center and located close to I-95.
Clean comfortable room close to everything, nice friendly staff. Heated pool was clean and well organized.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by kelli, Hotel Management
Fred, thank you for you comment. I'm glad to hear that my staff made your stay a pleasant one, we strive for great customer service.I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating and we are listing. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to our property soon. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Dec 15, 2016
The carpet in the common areas is dated, ugly and looks dirty. The room is fine. The pool rules a little bit tacky and silly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Kelli, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay with us. I am happy to announce we have listened and the carpets are all being updated. our main priority is to offer a well maintained and comfortable atmosphere. I am glad you enjoyed our pool. The pool rules are the standard hotel pool rules if you have any question concerning the pool rules please don't hesitate to give me a call and hopefully i can clear up any confusion. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thank You