Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Central location

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Decoration
Location: Central location
Pleasant staff and great location but hotel is in need of decoration. Rooms nothing special but adequate for needs.
4 out of 5
by Vanessa

Night out at an event in Spalding

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
I was travelling with two female colleagues for a large event in the local area. The hotel is on the Market Square and downstairs is a very friendly 'locals' town bar and there is an Indian restaurant at the back. Check in was well organised and rooms were spotless and we were made to feel very welcome by everyone and had a great night at our event and later in the bar. It wasn't 'flashy' but we were not expecting that. Parking was easy. The only criticism was that there was a smell of indian food penetrating the bedrooms but I have to say, it didn't really bother us and the rooms were immaculate even if older in style. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Credit .Ontario ,Canada

jimmy hendrix

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: everything
The hotel was a typical english country pub , warm weclome and very friendly people .The room was basic but was comfortable and clean with tea and coffee available in the room . I had a curry in the restaurant which i would put in the top ten i have eaten . The one thing i noticed on a plaque on the wall outside was that Jimmy Hendrix and other performers from the sixties had stayed there may 29 1967
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Good hotel - would use again.

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Barman/receptionist was very helpful. Room was comfortable, but very hot and the window had been left open - usually not a problem, but the extract from the kitchen was right below my room and the room stank very strongly of curry (hotel restaurant is an Indian curry house). Plenty of eating options in the vicinity, but most stop serving food quite early (8pm), except for the Asian restaurants and Prezzo. Beware the parking restrictions - on market days (and nights before market days) you cannot park at the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bill

Good business stop over.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is aging but in good condition right in the centre of spalding, comfortable quiet room, good breakfast. Wifi was a bit intermittent but ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Congleton

Parking poor and shabby not chic

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Décor and ventilation
I had difficulty finding the hotel as it is on a limited access street. I didn't know where the hotel's car park was, in fact it has 8 spaces in a c/p somewhere but I still don't know where that is. Staff were friendly but the room was drab and shabby, not in a chic way. It could do with redecoration. The hotel has a Goan/ Indian restaurant and there was a lingering curry smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel, pub

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The intermittent wifi
Location: The Red Lion quarter, close to river walks
Stayed for two nights, April 2017. Friendly staff made us very welcome, room was very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast and friendly locals in the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

Lovely hotel and pub in the centre of Spalding

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Cosy, pub serving a good range of beers; attached Indian restaurant; central location.
The hotel is located centrally in Spalding, in front of the market square. The building itself is old - built in the 18th century - and as such, it does have an 'olde-worlde' feel to it. There are a small number of parking spaces provided by the hotel in a nearby car park, or you could park at the front of the hotel (except on Monday and Friday overnight because Tuesday and Saturday are market days.) Attached to the hotel is an excellent Indian Restaurant - The Spice Affair. It servers by far some of the best Indian cuisine we have had in the UK. We have stayed here a couple of times now, and we would highly recommend the hotel.