Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Congleton

Parking poor and shabby not chic

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Décor and ventilation
I had difficulty finding the hotel as it is on a limited access street. I didn't know where the hotel's car park was, in fact it has 8 spaces in a c/p somewhere but I still don't know where that is. Staff were friendly but the room was drab and shabby, not in a chic way. It could do with redecoration. The hotel has a Goan/ Indian restaurant and there was a lingering curry smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel, pub

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The intermittent wifi
Location: The Red Lion quarter, close to river walks
Stayed for two nights, April 2017. Friendly staff made us very welcome, room was very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast and friendly locals in the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

Lovely hotel and pub in the centre of Spalding

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Cosy, pub serving a good range of beers; attached Indian restaurant; central location.
The hotel is located centrally in Spalding, in front of the market square. The building itself is old - built in the 18th century - and as such, it does have an 'olde-worlde' feel to it. There are a small number of parking spaces provided by the hotel in a nearby car park, or you could park at the front of the hotel (except on Monday and Friday overnight because Tuesday and Saturday are market days.) Attached to the hotel is an excellent Indian Restaurant - The Spice Affair. It servers by far some of the best Indian cuisine we have had in the UK. We have stayed here a couple of times now, and we would highly recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good nights sleep

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Work related stay so just needed a good nights sleep
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Pagnell

Very good value for money and was clean

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed for one night, booked in with no problems. Room was of a good size and was clean and very good value.
4 out of 5
by Stanley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel with plenty of English pub character

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Everything, especially the atmosphere & location
Cons: Leave Wi-Fi password notification in rooms
Location: Plenty to do within minutes, location was great.
Fantastic, we enjoyed our stay at the Red Lion immensely. The room was very clean & comfortable but homey at the same time. Staff were terrific. The whole experience couldn't have been better. WE WILL BE BACK.
3 out of 5
by Sheila from East Yorkshire

Good stop over

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight - comfortable - welcoming reception, good reataurant - exactly what we wanted en route to elsewhere
3 out of 5
by Timothy

Good value.

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
Good value but floors are very creaky and thin so not quiet if you have a room above you. That said, friendly staff and good food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quaint hotel in Spalding

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Close to amenities like bus and train station, restaurants and riveer pathway
Cons: The plumbing on the second floor was sad - no pressure
The hotel is old and a favourite of many locals. No lift or air conditioning, the water pressure on the second floor was sad. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 10 minute walk to the train and bus station. Close to many great restaurants, including Indian one attached - Spice affair. Fun for a couple of days. Best with carry-on luggage :)