Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from isle of wight

Hotel Mercure WEST

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Cons: Cups to drink coffee and tea from. A map which shows where they are on the station line before you get there. A reminder about the tourist tax
Location: About 40 minutes outside main attractions. Nothing to do near by
Did not start well as the taxi driver took us from the local train station to the ' other' Mercure. £40 and an hour later we checked in. This is because it is not located on the tour guide maps. Gentleman on night duty was excellent. Jana was excellent rest were not too bothered.£19.00 each for breakfast. No cups in room for coffee or tea. Soft beds. Was a good stopgap but about 40 minutes away from centre which meant we spent a lot of time on the trains. Train system excellent. Would I stay here again? Not this Mecure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati OH

Nice hotel convenient to Tegel.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
We were happy with the size of the room, comfort and convenience to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by st, Hotel Management
Dear Dianne, many thanks for this great feedback! Best regards Stefanie Bobon General Manager
4 out of 5
by John

Ok

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Needs a large top sheet and blanket instead of the typical comforter in a sheet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Dear John, many Thanks for your feedback. See you soon in Berlin ! Best regards, Timothée Morel Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Airport hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient hotel near Tegel airport. Good restaurants within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the feedback and the 3 Stars. See you in Berlin ! Timothée Morel Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by Guilhem

Alright. Not more.

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Nice service, but hotel located a bit far to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Dear Guilhem, Thank you for your feedback. See you soon! Best regards, Timothée Morel Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Terry

Would definitely recommend - very helpful staff

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived early from Vienna, having taken a night train. The reception staff couldn't find our reservation through hotels.com but kindly just sorted it out for us as we were tired and wet. They even let us check in at 12 Noon rather than the scheduled 3pm. The guy on the reception desk saw that we had a child and arranged for us to have a room with a sofa bed which was an added bonus all for the pre-booked price which was very reasonable anyway. The Mercure is right next to a train stop as well so we just left the hotel and hopped onto the train into Berlin centre. The bed and pillow particularly was very comfy, had a really good night's sleep/
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Dear Terry, thank you a lot for your great review and feedback! We are proud to recieve the highest rating and that you enjoyed your stay. See you soon in Berlin ! Best regards, Timothée Morel Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by Johan

Nice hotel, average location

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
The room was small but had an extra bed and we put the mattress of that bed on the floor for our 2 year old as she is prone to falling from the bed. It made our nights very comfortable as otherwise we would have had to have her on our bed. The breakfast and air conditioning was good. The staff was extremely helpful. However the location isn't that great and it takes about 45 minutes to get to central Berlin. The hotel wifi was flaky by the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Hi Johan, Thank you very much for your Feedback. Sorry for the Internet near by the pool... Thanks for the very nice comments about the Staff, I will inform them. See you soon ! Best regards, Timothée Morel Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by David

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very happy with room and overall stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Hi David, Thank you for your nice Feedback. I hope that we can see you soon! Best regards, Timothée Morel Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overnight transition to early morning flight

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: quiet rooms, competent staff, good location to Tegel Airport
Cons: an exercise room would be good but not a deal breaker
Clean, accommodating, proximal to airport. Staff supported taxi service, posting to outgoing on departure. THe room was clean, the toiletries sufficient for a 1-night stay, and available neighborhood options to dining, post office, and evening walking were delightful. For a short stay for two people (couple) it was ideal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Va

Disappointing Experience

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Right next the subway, it's only a block away from the hotel.
Cons: Customer complaint resolution. I don't appreciate the clerk telling me my reservation included breakfast, then billing me.
Location: There's a market nearby to buy food and a home store like Ikea that's across the street from the hotel.
I'm currently traveling around Europe and my stay in Berlin was going to be my most expensive during this whole trip. I accepted that because of my schedule, and found out there was a convention in the city that brought in 150k people. Anyways, when I checked into my room, the counter attendant notified me the rate included breakfast. When I checked out, they charged me for each day of breakfast and it was included in my reservation. I told them that at the time of the check in I was told breakfast was included, but the manager said I still had to pay. Breakfast was 18 Euros a day, so the bill be was pretty high. I was very disappointed, the Berlin trip was already the most expensive city on my trip and now it was made worse because of the error made my the attendant at the time of my check-in. I'm traveling on a budget and this was salt in the wound. It tainted my whole experience in Berlin. I don't plan to ever book a hotel with Mercure again. I gave my rating a 2. Lost a point because the hotel was far outside the city, you will need to transfer at least 2 trains to get to downtown to see Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag. Takes about 40 mins. Lost another point because of the breakfast fiasco. Lost another point because when I filed a complain, they told me they were going to respond in 2 days. It's been 7 and nothing. I don't like their customer service and complaint resolution. They're in the hospitality business so I thought they would be responsive.