Ratings based on 833 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nashville

Very nice older hotel. The location is fabulous.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Very comfortable clean older hotel. Very ornate lobby and rooms. Staff was very helpful and courteous. We had a very unpleasant meal in the hotel roof resturant. Would not recommend eating at the resturant but would definitely stay at the hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff and main hall
Cons: Design of toilets , 1st room service number doesnt work , No iron provided , pricey breakfast
Location: Spanish steps and lots others
Lovely staff from reception , restaurant, concierge.... price for breakfast was eur 25 which was too high for what you get, so we ate outside after day 1 . Room was nice till you find out fridge is placed at the top shelf in the wardrobe and neighbours toilet flush is just behind your bed and you can hear everything loud and clear . We got up whenever anyone flush, use sink or shower, which they did in odd hours. Other than that stay was good mainly due to location .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good staff

Posted Jul 6, 2017
They need more polite and trained staff Is not a five star hotel at all Lots of complains from hotel gust in lobby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, needs a refresh.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The location of the hotel is excellent - walking distanve to most "must visit" places and plenty of good places to eat in the vicinity. The hotel is clean, our room was sufficiently large. The bathroom could use a complete overhaul.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Historical hotel in a great location!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathroom did not have a shower and it was not maintained. It needed caulking badly.
The hotel is located by the spanish steps, trevi fountain and metro stop. Great location for shopping, restaurants and access to sight seeing. The hotel has great features including a beautiful lobby and terrace.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was old and tired

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Lobby was gorgeous, too bad the room wasn't as nice!!
Cons: room condition
Location: Good location
Bathroom broke down twice, was old and tired and no shower but otherwise OK. Was bothered by staff every day 2 to 4 times, especially while sleeping. They never communicated to each other that we didn't want room service. Informed the manager, he couldn't care less!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's all about location, and the novelty...

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Wotif
The Grand Hotel Plaza is a couple of centuries old, and has been left almost untouched. That means it is NOT anything like a Four Seasons, but does have a quirky charm. The basic "classic" rooms are tiny and gloomy, but an extra €30 per day all-in (agreed on the spot when I saw the classic room), gets you a superior room of almost twice the size… And a pleasant place to spend a couple of days. Relatively good value, and a fascinating experience if you're interested in grand hotels from the era of the grand tour. As long as you know what to expect, and are sure that is what you want, you will love it… We did.
5 out of 5
by Peggy

Rome vacation

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is beautiful, full of history. The room was nice but the elevator and hallways sometimes smelled poorly, I suppose from the age of the Hotel but the rooms smelled great and the rest of the hotel so not sure why that happens. But it is a great Hotel, located beautifully to everything you want..I will stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most bad hotel I saw in my live

Posted May 25, 2017
Room very dirty ,actually I booked through Expedia it's not as the photo at all ,once enter the room directly run away from the hotel.