Ratings based on 831 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA USA

Great location close to many sights!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Hotel that is very beautiful. Close to many sights in a lively area downtown. Many options for shopping and dining and short walk to Spanish steps and Trevi fountain. Rooms are comfortable but air conditioning didn't work well so it was hot. The upstairs terrace is wonderful for a drink after dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Nice hotel, my room was very nice and spacious.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
My room was clean, very spacious and comfortable. Yet, I think that I had an upgrade, for the type of room I had. I walked by other rooms and they looked much smaller and with different decoration. It is at a short-walking distance from most important touristt places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Luxury hotel in central location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Central location and excellent staff
Location: Great location near lots of monuments
Had problems with the bathroom, we had to change room. Prompt response from the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location but staff very frosty

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel is ideally placed for all the main attraction in Rome, There are many bars and restaurants in close proximity. We found the hotel staff a little frosty and not very helpful but overall the hotel was good and our room was very comfortable with a great view and not much outside noise considering the Hotel location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel in good location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Hotel looks very grand from the lobby and bar area when you first walk in and the hotel is in a great location. However, the rooms are not quite the same. We had a family apartment which we had to change after 2 nights as the drain in the bathroom kept leaking and we had water all over the bathroom floor, we complained 3 times before we were eventually moved. We were moved to a like for like room, but this room the bathroom was much smaller with just a shower and very poor air conditioning (and the heat was over 40 degrees). The standard of the room was poor and not worth €400 a night. The hotel offered no compensation or upgrade for all the inconvenience just a plate of cakes in our room. We also had heard great things about a day trip to lake albano so went to speak to the concierge about it, she said she had never heard of it and had been in Rome for 15 years! Terrible lack of knowledge. The hotel info says it has a garden but you can not use it as it's only for conference use and the terrace on the 5th floor was not open the first evening we were there. To top it all off on the last day we came down the stairs from the 2nd floor, to the whole lobby area being taken over by a film crew. We were asked to stand on the stairs and wait as they were filming. The hotel had given us no notfication they were filming in the hotel that morning, just a courtesy note would have been more than enough. I'm sure you can find better in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AC worked all 100d + days!

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Great old building in the best location in Rome, roof top terrace restaurant was lovely, breakfast room and food was also very nice!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Egypt

Grand Hotel Plaza

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: it has really classic nice reception and salons. It has great location in the middle of the sightseeing
Cons: maintenance , maintenance
Location: prefect location
The hotel needs a lot of maintenance specially the air-condition and the bathrooms, The air-condition was dropping water during the whole stay and tried many time with the hotel staff to fix it with total ignorance. Taking any shower in the bathroom means the floor is to flooded with water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic but needs renovation

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Very noisy rooms, need updating, beds were essentially metal cots with fake headboards behind them. Pillows were lumpy like full of socks. No mattress covers. Showers leaked all over the floors so had to put 12 bath towels down to soak up all the water . Told staff and they moved us to new room where it took 18 towels. Black mold on floors from where showers repeatedly overflow. Yuck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near the Spanish Steps

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The hotel and rooms are truly beautiful. The location was ideal to the best shopping and restaurants.
The hotel and room were beautiful. Staff was extremely accommodating at check-in. However, the bathroom in our room was far below acceptable. The glass shower doors were falling off the edge of the tub and leaked. The bottom panel of the tub was also in extreme disrepair. As a result, when you took a shower, the bathroom flooded and the water flowed into the adjacent room. The buckling of the wooden floor made it apparent this was a chronic issue. After this happened with the first shower, we had to take extreme measures to prevent it from happening again....not entirely successful, though. It was extremely unsafe to walk in the bathroom after anyone showered. When I mentioned this issue at check-out, it was not a surprise. I told them it was an extremely unsafe situation and must be addressed before allowing anyone else to stay in the room. It was noted; but, I was disappointed there was no apology or offer to compensate for the inconvenience/situation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

not inpressed

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Perfect location and a clean hotel but other than that absolutely nothing. Staff had attitude with guests as we checked in somebody was complaining about the room and I thought guest was just exaggerating. He wasn't. We booked three rooms and 2 out of three had issues. Our room we woke up with water leaking in our face. They moved us to a lower type room and staff did not even bother to apologize for inconvenience. 2nd room had no electricity no air and phone was broken. Just not impressed. The way they reacted to the guy when we checked in I didn't even bother to complain. We met a freind who was also staying there and in one day he had to move rooms twice. Too bad really. because it is in such a perfect location