Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livermore, CA

Nice, classic, old-time hotel in excellent locale.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Clean with signs of the long history. Comfortable beds, Great breakfast on roof top terrace.
Cons: Our room had a quirky folding bathroom door which was difficult to close. The bathtub shower required a giant step up and over to enter.
Location: A short walk to the Spanish Steps and many other attractions. We walked to our tours at Colosseum and Vatican from the hotel.
Our two rooms were clean and functional. Lots of built-in furniture. Great breakfast each morning on the rooftop terrace. Also included afternoon "happy hour" with wine and snacks on the same terrace. Located in very handy area for easy walking to many sites. Good restaurants nearby and also an ATM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Rome stay

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Clean and comfortable hotel. I stayed here for two days before my flight out of Rome. The staff were very helpful and accommodating for my short trip. I also truly enjoyed the mini bar drinks that were included in the room. The hotel also had a complimentary happy hour with wines and snacks on the rooftop deck. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the Trevi fountain. On another note the receptionist that was there on our last night was so nice and noticed that we were up very late before our early morning flight and called us in the morning to wake us up when he didn't see us downstairs. It was very sweet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ,Ontario

Great location and great service

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This is our second time staying in this hotel. Friendly staff , and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Highly Recommended!!!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Close to almost all the tourists attractions. Close to Metro. Breakfast is very good which is included. Staff esp Kevin is very helpful. Frée drinks. Wine & chips for free from 6pm to 10pm. I will definitely come back the next time i visit Rome and will highly recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was awesome

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: The attention to detail, the staff friendliness and helpfulness
Location: The hotel is in a prime location to walk to most of he key sites in Rome, or to get the bus or metro (both very easy to negotiate)
Hotel Fenice is in a brilliant location between the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain, it's also close to the main bus routes. The staff were faultless doing everything they could to help us from helping getting me soya goods for breakfast to recommending the best pizza restaurant. They helped direct us to key sites and were very attentive to detail. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Rome especially if you want a smaller hotel rather than a chain which would be my preference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
shower tube not work properly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location close to all sites within walking

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: The breakfast area was very small but the upstairs terrace was excellent.
Cons: Tea making facility in the rooms.
Location: Hotel was in a very good location with easy walking distance to most of the sites
We would not recommend the BLUE hop on hop off bus as the commentary was not in synke with the sites,most ear phones did not work in the sockets.the bus ran every 20to 25 minutes compared to the other buses.
3 out of 5
by Karl

A decent hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
a very small hotel. The room would have been ok as a double - but they sold it to us for a triple. By the time the 3rd bed was in the room, it was really tight. Also the bathtub was quite inconvenient for showering. The location is ok. The staff was very friendly and helpful. So overall I probably would choose it again. It served the purpose of a good night sleep in the historical center of Rome.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Skem

Lovely quaint hotel, helpful staff

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a lovely small hotel, it could do with a little TLC in the rooms but the friendly staff in particular Asif, he is a mind of information. This makes up for the little it lacks in its attention to detail, after all you dont come to Rome to stay in the room, its such a magical place. The roof terrace is a lovely way to relax with a free glass of Proseco after a day exploring. This hotel is ideal for the location of walking distance to the majority of the main sites of Rome. An ideal place to stay if you are not to fussy and want advice and help from very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect stay, beautiful location!!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Had an amazing experience at this hotel. Arrived early and room was ready for us. Location was beautiful right by the Spanish steps, metro and hop on/off bus a stones throw away. Couldn't fault the service As staff were friendly and helpful with booking trips. The breakfast was just lovely, fresh coffee and pastries were just filling. Wine each evening on the balcony was a treat, the fridge was always full with drinks and room cleaned daily. The only downfall was the noise of the traffic, but a pack of earplugs resolved that no problem. My next trip to Rome will be here!!!! 5*+++++