Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice room and very clean.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Check in time must be set 48 hours prior to arrival so that reception can be staffed. It would have been helpful to know you should proceed to the 4th floor to meet the receptionist. The desk on the ground floor looks like a reception desk and was misleading to us, thinking we were at the correct desk to check in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Not a HOTEL. No 24hr reception !

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Would not recommend it since owner needs a specific date and time for arrival. They are not flexible and unwilling to meet your needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Owner , Hotel Management
It is clearly written in the webpage that check in are agreed and also that we aren't a Hotel and haven't 24 hours reception, customers are also informed by welcome email. So I do not understand your feedback. Thanks
4 out of 5
by Vivek

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Location was excellent on main via del corso street. All attractions are walkable. Lovely restaurants around. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. Good for family. Rooms & Bathroom were clean. Fixed rate taxi for airport from the area so one can avoid going to Termini station by cab & then further train. Cons: There is no continuous availability of housekeeping or service staff & front desk staff. Staff comes only for check in and check out. You got to communicate exact time of your flight or train arrival. The staff comes accordingly to drop the keys & do paperwork. Cannot even give them 2 hr window of arrival time. Even received an email from them that they will not be able to hold the reservation if I do not communicate exact arrival time. That was uncomforting as I wanted to keep my plans in Florence flexible. Bathroom overhead shower was forcing water on the sides & not down due hole in it. Couldn't have it fixed due no staff on property site. No luggage drop facility after check out as no staff on property. I wanted to pay in cash but they charged my credit card while I was in taxi on my way to them even before I had arrived. You have to ask for coffee machine in room on request. Overall the location & comfortable, spacious rooms made up for not so good service. So if you planning to stay here, after you check in you check the room & ask for what you want before the staff leaves.
5 out of 5
by Alexis

Amazing stay!!!

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and was very easy to contact before and throughout the stay. Very close to all the hotspots of Rome, and not far from a metro stop. Spacious rooms, clean common area, and very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, Italy

Wow !

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Luxury room on 5th floor overlooking pedestrian street off of Via del Corso. Elevator. Little balcony with very pretty view. Great bathroom. Superbly maintained. Location unbeatable for a tourist, both for roaming historical center and shopping. This is not a hotel with 24 hour front desk, but we don't need this.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

81 Relais Frattina

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible service! They have very particular check-in and drop-off times. They do not hold your luggage for you so on our last day, we spent almost 2 hours dragging our luggage to the main train station & stood in line dropping our luggage instead of enjoying the city. Moreover, the staff is not helpful or engaging in trying to find taxis for you because they are not there the whole time of yor stay- just there to check you in and out. I would never stay with them again and do not usually take the time to write reviews but this one compelled me to do so given how much we paid for it vs the service received.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear customer, in the services is not written luggage deposit and we try to help customers if we have others check in during the day, moreover it was written in the welcome email that you red and answered, so I do not understand your problems, you knew all, no surprises. Check in is not particular, but only agreed in base of customer's travel details to organize it in the best way. also this is written in the important info of the webpage!Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

good location

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: more efficient tracking of client emails
Location: good shopping, easy walk to central rome sights, plenty of restaurants
Easy location for main sights and shopping in Rome. Nice sized room, quiet for sleeping, excellent air conditioning, clean and pretty room. Big stair walk (5 flights!) but elevator if needed. As noted by others, lack of desk attendant is a limitation and stood out compared to other places we stayed which were overall a bit more welcoming. Felt a little haranged about providing time of arrival so that the desk attendant could be present for check in. After several email exchanges curtly informing me of this policy, I had provided it as exact date/time and next day asked again for same, showing some imperfect tracking...but in the end the attendant was at the desk when we arrived at appointed time and was nice enough. If you don't need anything from hotel staff and are looking for good central location and nice room at the price, this is perfectly fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was incredible rude and unreasonable upon check-in. If I had not prepaid the room I would have not stayed there.
5 out of 5
by Ofer from Israel

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
I was at the conference during the day but enjoyed the evenings in the surrounding area
1 out of 5
by Susan from Australia

Fawlty Towers and a half

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
This was disaster from get go - the owner manages the place berated me for being late out of my control flight delayed - room whilst good size needed a good clean had no basic facilities coffee making a cup or glass bathroom toiletries despite two small fridges brother worked and the wifi continually going off line and whole of Saturday was none existent was unable to make travel Plans searched the city for wifi so I could - told the owner he shrugged and said it working now - the next day. Disappointed with such behavior when paying to stay in a place - definitely book a hotel next time in sand location which was good nothing else ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want specify that nobody berated you for being late, after hours I called you just to ask if you had problems in reaching us. Moreover if you asked for the kettle I was happy to give you, but you didn't, I cannot stay in customer's mind. The wifi those days had problems because of engineers at work in the center area, so not for our fault, but you didn't understood that and were upset. However thanks for your review. Regards