Ratings based on 1,933 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated hotel near Piazza del Popolo

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Small, nice hotel 200yds from Piazza del Popolo in Rome. Good AC for hot summer days. Close to main Rome attractions. Clean, amicable staff, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this hotel is in very good location is two minutes

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: everything.
this hotel is very clean , the stuff are very helpful and polite with the excellent breakfast .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Way over my expectations!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Breakfast, Happy Hours.
Cons: The elevators are slow.
Location: This is at Piazza Popolo square. Perfect location!
I highly recommend this hotel! The location is perfect and the staff is amazing! Everyday we had a very complete complimentary breakfast, and a lovely happy hour at the end of the day. Rooms are small.. (as we expected for Rome), but beautiful!! This hotel worth every penny!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

Not good value for money

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Definately need larger rooms, and coffee and tea making facilities, and the price is on the expensive side - not good value for money.
Location: Excellent location and is easy to access or walk to the many tourist attractions - Spanish steps, Coleseum, Vatican, Pantheon etc.
The River Palace Hotel is well located for many of Rome's attractions, however the room was small and cramped for the amount of money paid at £165 per night plus the usual Visitor tax of 6 Euros per person per night. We stayed for 4 nights in one of the classic rooms (which equates to cramped and a super small bathroom which is hard to move around in). Don't get me wrong the room itself was clean, tidy and comfortable, but there is next to no space. Worse still at £165 a night, I would expect tea and coffee makig facilities to be available, but they were not!! Air conditioning worked well, the staff were very helpful and friendly - shame about the natives outside the hotel. The Romans themsleves, including the police, eatery waiters and the people generaly were rude, abrupt and unhelpful. A shame when you are pumping so much money into the local economy - we spent approximately £650 over those 4 nights/5 days on eating out, drinks, general purchases and visiting attractions. The breakfast at the hotel was average, but once again the staff were hepful and attentive. Overall, I would say that the River Palace Hotel is over-priced and does not represent good value for money. That said Rome - hotels and eating - out is expensive if you enjoy a good meal and want to take in the culture..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s wales

Good value B&B

Posted Jul 28, 2017
20 minute walk to Trevi Fountain. Couldn't fault food and staff. Given bottle wine for Anniversary! Downside tiny room for the 3 of us, carpet stained needs replacing but the most comfortable beds and bed linen ever had in a hotel. Free wifi throughout hotel. Good 50% off drinks 5pm on with free buffet food on the bar - excellent considering price on alcoholic drinks in Rome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

Disappointing!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Reserved this room several months ago based on pictures and reviews but utterly disappointed when we arrived there. Room was very small with a closet size bathroom. Breakfast however was excellent with caring staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Excellent hotel for a stay in Rome. Walking distance to most major sites and staff is the best! Only disappointment was happy hour. Other guests in hotel going bare foot, putting feet on tables and making a mess
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fantastic hotel not far from the river.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The rooms were cleaned every day. All the facilities we needed were present and the staff were fantastic.
Cons: More charging ports for our devices, such as iPhones and iPads. There were only two plug sockets provided for this purpose and it was difficult to use
Location: The locations was great for shopping and site seeing.Thre Trevy fountain was only 20-30 minutes away and the colosseum only 40 minutes away (walking).
The hotel was clean and beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Moreover, they were curtious and welcoming. We felt very 'at home' and cared for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to most attractions

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Did not know much about this area but this hotel was right choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great hotel and location, nice decor, great staff